College of Staten Island
Books Articles Research Assistance Services About us
Return Home

Guide to Selected Resources for Topics in Sociology

Print Resources back to top

Encyclopedias, Handbooks, Guides

Below is a selection of works from the Reference Collection located on the Library 1st floor. Additional Books can be found by searching through the CUNY+ Catalog under the “find a book” link from the Libraries home page.

Encyclopedias back to top

Education and sociology: an encyclopedia /
New York: Routledge Falmer, 2002. REF LC189.95 .E38 2002

Encyclopedia of sociology / 2nd ed.
New York: Macmillan Reference, USA, c2000. REF HM425 .E5 2000 v.1-5

Encyclopedia of sociology/
New York: Macmillan; Toronto: Maxwell Macmillan Canada; New York: Maxwell Macmillan International, c1992. REF HM17 .E5 1992 v.1-4

Encyclopedia of social measurement /
Amsterdam; London: Elsevier/Academic Press, 2005. REF H62 .E53 2005 v.1-3

Beacham's Encyclopedia of Social Change: America in the twentieth century /
Osprey, FL: Beacham Pub. Corp.: Distributed worldwide exclusively by Gale Group, c2001 REF HN59.2 .B43 2001 v. 1-4

International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences /
1st ed. Oxford, UK; New York: Elsevier, 2001. REF H41 .I58 2001 v. 1-26

Encyclopedia of modern American social issues /
Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c1997. REF HN57 .K73 1997

The social science encyclopedia / 2nd ed.
London; New York: Routledge, 1996. REF H41 .S63 1999

Encyclopedia of social history /
New York: Garland, 1994. REF HN28 .E53 1994

Dictionaries back to top

The Blackwell dictionary of sociology: a user's guide to sociological language /
Cambridge, Mass.: Blackwell, 1995. REF HM17 .J64 1995

The Penguin dictionary of sociology / 3rd ed.
London: Penguin Books 1994. REF HM17 .A23 1994

Handbooks back to top

The sociology student writer's manual / 4th ed.
Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Pearson Education, c2004.
Ready Reference (Reference Desk) HM585 .S638 2004

Handbook of the sociology of education /
New York : Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers, c2000. REF LC191 .H254 2000

Databases back to top

Subject Specific back to top

ASSIA = Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts - Indexes 650 journals in economics, education, health, politics, psychology, race relations, social services, and sociology.

County and City Data Books (GEOSTAT) Contains the online version of the 1988 and 1994 Data Books.

Infoshare - Population statistics, immigration trends, socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations, local economic data, and much more.

Social Sciences Abstracts Extensive index to scholarly articles in professional journals.

SocIndex FT new - offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. The database features more than 1,600,000 records with subject headings from a 15,600 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. This product also contains informative abstracts for 640 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.

Sociology SAGE Collection - Full text of 34 SAGE sociology journals from 1967 to the present. Twelve journals are available from their first issues.

U. S. Bureau of Statistics from the Department of Labor is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. The BLS is an independent national statistical agency that collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential statistical data to the American public, the U.S. Congress, other Federal agencies, State and local governments, business, and labor.

U. S. Census The official web site for the 2000 and 1990 census, with some information from the 1930 census, and the 2003 Statistical Abstract of the United States online.

Related back to top

Anthropological Index Online searches journal articles from the British Library's catalog.

EbscoHost Databases Selected databases are available through Ebsco such as CINAHL, EconLit, ERIC, PsycInfo, Sociological Abstracts, etc.

Ethnic Newswatch is a FULL TEXT collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Click here for the Tutorial.

In the First Person (Ebsco) is an in-depth index of more than 3,350 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world. It lets you keyword search more than 650,000 pages of full-text by more than 15,000 individuals from all walks of life. It also contains pointers to some 3,500 audio and video files and 30,000 bibliographic records.

Population Index from Princeton provides citations only for publications.

Wiley Interscience Over 100 FULL TEXT journals online from Wiley for sciences and social sciences, with tables of contents for hundreds of additional journals.

General back to top

Academic Search Premier Provides FULL TEXT for scholarly articles in over 3400 journals, plus citations to many more.

AIDSearch - Subject index to HIV and AIDS research (free registration required).

America History and Life - Citations and abstracts of journal articles, book and media reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from more than 2,100 journals in forty languages. Click here for the journal titles indexed.

Britannica World Data Analyst View PDFs with up-to-date information for individual countries; Create tables and charts comparing countries across multiple statistical categories, or focus on statistics for a single country. Data reflects the most recent available statistics.

Country Studies - Information about countries world-wide from the Library of Congress, updated from their printed publications.

Historical Abstracts Indexes over 18,000 articles based on review of over 2,100 journals published worldwide, plus books, from 1982. Links to JSTOR are now available. Click here for a list of the journal titles indexed.

JSTORhas FULL TEXT articles from the first issue of several hundred journals in the Arts & Sciences I & II, General Science, Language & Literature collections.

Lexis-Nexis Academic is a FULL TEXT database that provides a wide range of news, business, legal and reference information from over 5000 sources, compiled specifically for the research needs of academic institutions.

MasterFile Premier 1,880 FULL TEXT periodicals, plus biographies and primary sources.

The New York Times Historical from 1851 Searchable FULL TEXT from the first issue with page format results from 1851-2001. (Recent issues available from Lexis-Nexis)

Project Muse - Project MUSE® offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

SCOPUS - Trial database for all CUNY through 2006. The world's largest indexing and abstracting database, Scopus provides citations and abstracts from thousands of peer-reviewed journals in the social sciences, sciences, technology, and medicine: anthropology, cultural studies, economics, education, gender studies, law, linguistics, political science, public administration, psychology, sociology, urban studies, and other social sciences; life and health sciences; chemistry, engineering, mathematics, and physics; biological, environmental, and agricultural sciences.

WORLDCAT Includes over 40,000,000 records of any type of material cataloged by thousands of OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.

Periodicals back to top

In the CSI collection

A complete list of periodicals relevant to Sociology and related disciplines available in the CSI Library can be found at the Journal Titles link on the Library home page. Select Subject--> Social and Behavioral Sciences. Format availability (print, microfilm, or online) will be indicated.

Highlighted titles include:

Rural sociology (0036-0112)

American city & county (0149-337X)

Urban studies (Harlow) (0042-0980)

History of the family (1081-602X)

Journal of family violence (0885-7482)

Journal of marriage and family (0022-2445)

American journal of sociology (0002-9602)

American sociological review (0003-1224)

Annual review of sociology (0360-0572)

Human ecology (Ithaca, N.Y.) (1530-7069)

International journal of social research methodology (1364-5579)

Journal of social psychology (0022-4545)

Qualitative sociology (0162-0436)

Sociological theory (0735-2751)

Sociology (Oxford) (0038-0385)

Theory and society (0304-2421)

International review of social history (0020-8590)

Journal of social history (0022-4529)

Journal of sociology and social welfare (0191-5096)

Social forces (0037-7732)

Social policy (0037-7783)

Internet Resources back to top

General back to top

American Sociological Association
http://www.asanet.org/index.ww

Website of the American Sociological Association. The site contains up to the date news on issues impacting the discipline of sociology worldwide. Site contains links and statistics, on advocacy, the profession and jobs, funding journals and even a section providing links on resources and information for teaching Sociology.

International Sociological Association
http://www.ucm.es/info/isa/

Website of the International Sociological Association. The site contains information on RESEARCH NETWORKS, PUBLICATIONS, funding opportunities and links to other Sociological sites from around the world.

Society for Applied Sociology
http://www.aacsnet.org/wp/

Website for the Society for applied Sociology. Provides information on the society and information for individuals interested in clinical and applied sociology also includes a forum and other links dealing with applied Sociology.

SocioSite
http://www.sociosite.net/index.php

The SocioSite website was compiled and maintained by the Social Sciences department at the University of Amsterdam. They provide links to resources and information that are relevant to sociological around the world. The SocioSite is a valuable resource that provides links to high quality websites and internet resources that are both informative and very easy to use.

Julian Dierkes' SocioLog
http://www.sociolog.com/

An extensive website that provides links to numerous and varies resources for sociology on line. A search engine is provided in addition to an index of topics and sites. Link topics include Professional Associations, research Institutes, University Departments, University Departments, Journals, Mailing and even Blogs dealing with sociology.

Dead Sociologists Society
http://www2.pfeiffer.edu/%7Elridener/DSS/DEADSOC.HTML

A fun and entertaining website, that provides brief bios and information on many of famous Sociologist, their work and theories.

Demography & Population Studies
http://demography.anu.edu.au/VirtualLibrary/

Australian National University website that provides a guide to Demography and population studies on the internet. It is a very comprehensive site that links the user to numerous sites on the internet tat provide statistics and data relevant to demography and population studies, as well as sociology.

Media Resources back to top

Can be found on the Library 2nd floor (1L-201), Library Media Services houses a collection of videotapes, among them videos on topics related to Sociology. For further information please call (718) 982-4035.

Compiled by Andrew Leykam, Asst. Prof.


space
Archives & Special Collections | Media Services | Services for Faculty | Student Info
CSI Home | CSI Links | CUNY Links | Beyond CSI | Site Map | Text Version

CSI
© College of Staten Island Library
2800 Victory Boulevard, Staten Island, NY 10314
718-982-4010
CSI Library Home CSI Home CUNY Home