|
|
Guide to Selected Resources for Topics in Social WorkPrint Resources back to topLiving with dying : a comprehensive resource for healthcare practitioners / New York : Columbia University Press, 2004. Reference - HV3000 .L58 2004 The social work dictionary / Barker, Robert L.: Washington, DC : NASW Press, 1999. REF HV12 .B36 1999 Social work research methods : building knowledge for practice / Washington, D.C. : NASW Press, c1999. Reference - HV11 .S5924 1999 HIV and social work : a practitioner's guide / Binghamton, N.Y. : Harrington Park Press, c1998. Reference - RA644.A25 H5788 1998 Handbook of empirical social work practice / New York : J. Wiley, c1998. Reference - HV43 .H316 1998v.1-2 Encyclopedia of social work :19th ed. / Richard L. Edwards: Washington, DC : National Association of Social Workers, 1995. Reference - HV35 .S6 1995 v.1-3; 1997 suppl. Social work almanac 2nd ed. / Washington, D.C. : NASW Press, c1995. Reference - HV90 .G53 1995 Research methods in social work 2nd ed. / Chicago : Nelson-Hall, c1995. Reference - HV11 .R69 1995 International handbook on social work education / Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1995. Reference - HV11 .I565 1995 Databases back to topAIDSearch - Subject index to HIV and AIDS research (free registration required) America History and Life - Citations and abstracts of journal articles, book and media reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from more than 2,100 journals in forty languages. Click here for the journal titles indexed. Child Abuse and Neglect Index - Subject index but free registration required HAPI: Health & Psychosocial Instruments Database - Material on unpublished information-gathering tools for clinicians, such as questionnaires, interviews, tests, rating scales, and coding schemes. Related back to topASSIA = Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts - Indexes 650 journals in economics, education, health, politics, psychology, race relations, social services, and sociology. County and City Data Books (GEOSTAT) Contains the online version of the 1988 and 1994 Data Books. Health Reference Center includes some FULL TEXT articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, etc., from 1994. PsycArticles - contains more than 25,000 FULL TEXT articles from 42 journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. Coverage includes general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology. Links available through PsycInfo. Click here for list of journals. Psychology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection (CSA) includes the full text of 30 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 22 years, and encompasses over 21,600 articles. Subjects covered include applied psychology, assessment, child development, clinical psychology, cognitive psychology, counseling psychology, and social psychology. PsycInfo contains more than 1.8 million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports. Summaries of world literature in psychology and related disciplines; over 1700 periodicals in 27 languages. More than 60,000 records are added each year through weekly updates. Social Sciences Abstracts Extensive index to scholarly articles in professional journals. SocIndex FT new - offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. The database features more than 1,600,000 records with subject headings from a 15,600 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. This product also contains informative abstracts for 640 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Sociology SAGE Collection - Full text of 34 SAGE sociology journals from 1967 to the present. Twelve journals are available from their first issues. General back to topAcademic Search Premier Provides FULL TEXT for scholarly articles in over 3400 journals, plus citations to many more. ASSIA = Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts - Indexes 650 journals in economics, education, health, politics, psychology, race relations, social services, and sociology. EbscoHost Databases Selected databases are available through Ebsco such as CINAHL, EconLit, ERIC, PsycInfo, Sociological Abstracts, etc. Ethnic Newswatch is a FULL TEXT collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Click here for the Tutorial. ERIC (Documents from 1994-2003) - government source now holds FULL TEXT books and reports published through ERIC. ERIC from EBSCO OR ERIC from CSA - indexes over 750 journals in the fields of education, library science and related topics from 1966 to the present. JSTOR has FULL TEXT articles from the first issue of several hundred journals in the Arts & Sciences I & II, General Science, Language & Literature collections. Legal Resources from FindLaw available to all users. Laws and cases, law schools, law reviews, exams, business law, etc. Lexis-Nexis Academic is a FULL TEXT database that provides a wide range of news, business, legal and reference information from over 5000 sources, compiled specifically for the research needs of academic institutions. Management and Organizational Studies SAGE Collection new - Full text of 44 SAGE journals in management, organization studies, business, human resources, marketing, public policy, public administration, and industrial relations from 1947 to the present. Twenty-one journals are available from their first issues. The New York Times Historical from 1851 Searchable FULL TEXT from the first issue with page format results from 1851-2001. (Recent issues available from Lexis-Nexis) Project Muse - Project MUSE® offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. TOPICsearch is a current events database for social, policial, economic, and scientific issues, with FULL TEXT to over 64,000 articles from more than 3000 diverse sources. Wiley Interscience Over 100 FULL TEXT journals online from Wiley for sciences and social sciences, with tables of contents for hundreds of additional journals. WORLDCAT Includes over 40,000,000 records of any type of material cataloged by thousands of OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century. Periodicals back to topIn the CSI collection A complete list of periodicals relevant to Social Work and related disciplines available in the CSI Library can be found at the Journal Titles link on the Library home page. Select Subject--> Social and Behavioral Sciences. Format availability (print, microfilm, or online) will be indicated. Highlighted titles include: Accident analysis and prevention (0001-4575) Adolescence (0001-8449) American annals of the deaf (Washington, D.C. 1886) (0002-726X) Brown University child and adolescent behavior letter (1058-1073) Child abuse & neglect (0145-2134) Child abuse review (Chichester, England : 1992) Criminal justice and behavior (0093-8548) Gerontologist (0016-9013) Journal of aging studies (0890-4065) Journal of adolescent research (0743-5584) Journal of adult development (1068-0667) Journal of criminal justice (0047-2352) Journal of early adolescence (0272-4316) Research on aging (0164-0275) Social work (New York) (0037-8046) Social Work and Society (1613-8953) Social work education (0261-5479) Social work in education (0162-7961) Social work research (1070-5309) Social work research & abstracts (0148-0847) Social work with groups (New York. 1978) Youth & society (0044-118X) Internet Resources back to topGeneral back to topHunter College’s Web Subject Guide for Social Work Internet Resources http://library.hunter.cuny.edu/subguides/ssw_ir.htm Hunter College’s Social Work Library’s Internet resource list one of the most extensive, up-to-date and well organized pages regarding links to resources useful to Social workers, especially in the New York Area. Some of the link topics covered include Addiction, Children and Youth, Disabilities, Employment and even Housing Assistance. National Association of Social Workers http://www.socialworkers.org/ Website of the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), association for professional social workers. The site provides information on the organization their programs and advocacy. In addition the site also provides News and resources for Social Workers, including a JobLink Feature. Social Work Access Network (SWAN) http://www.sc.edu/swan/index.html The University of South Carolina’s site for SWAN an extensive and up-to-date site providing resources and information for students, faculty, and professionals who are involved in Social Work. The site contains numerous links to other organizations and web resources, including upcoming conferences. The Society for Social Work and Research http://www.sswr.org/ Is a Professional Society of Social Workers who focus of Research. Their website includes information on their society, news and a listing of jobs. In addition their links to internet resources is very useful and easy to navigate.
Media Resources back to topCan be found on the Library 2nd floor (1L-201), Library Media Services houses a collection of videotapes, among them videos on topics related to the field of Social work. For further information please call (718) 982-4035. Compiled by Andrew Leykam, Asst. Prof. |
||
|