|
SELECTED RESOURCES FOR TOPICS IN POLITICAL SCIENCE
Reference -
Selected
from our Reference collection, located on the 1st floor of the
Library.
- The
Cambridge History of Twentieth Century Political
Thought. London; New York: Routledge.
JA 83.C25 2003
- The
Challenge of Slums: Global Report on Human Settlements 2003. Sterling, VA: EarthScan Publications,
Ltd. HV 4028.C48 2003
- The
Encyclopedia of American Political History. Washington, D.C.: CQ Press. E 183.E48
2001
- Great
Jobs for Political Science Majors. 2nd ed. Chicago: VGM Career Books. JA
88.U6 R68 2004
- Legal
Systems of the World: A Political, Social, and Cultural Encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO. K 48.L44 2002
- New
York State Statistical Yearbook. HA 544.A2 (latest edition at the Reference Desk)
- The
Political Science Student Writer’s Manual, 3rd ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice
Hall. JA 86.S39 2000
- Religion
and Politics: a Reference Handbook. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO. BL 65.P7 S76 2002
- Statistical
Abstract of the United States. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the
Census. HA 202.A3 (latest edition at the Reference
Desk)
- Statistical
Yearbook. New
York: United Nations. HA 12.5.U63 2004 (latest edition
at the Reference Desk)
Index and Abstracts -
The following titles are located in the Index and Abstracts
section on the 2nd floor of the Library.
- International
Political Science Abstracts
Index and abstracts for worldwide political science journals.
A comprehensive source for abstracts in all areas of
political science.
- The
Left Index
Index
of American and European periodicals with a radical, Marxist or Leftist
political perspective.
- PAIS
International in Print
Index of periodicals, government documents, statistical
directories, pamphlets, books, and more, covering public and social
policy issues.
- Social
Sciences Index
Index of literature in the social sciences, with significant
coverage of political science fields.
Circulating Books -
Selected from our Circulating collection, located on the
3rd floor of the Library.
- America
(the book): A Citizen's Guide to Democracy Inaction. New York: Warner Books. PN 6231.P6
S84 2004
- Black
Heretics, Black Prophets: Radical Political Intellectuals. London; New York: Routledge. JA 92.B64
2003
- Ethics,
Economics and Politics: Principles of Public Policy. New York: Oxford University Press.
HB 72.L575 2003
- Fear: The History of a Political Idea. New York: Oxford Unitersity Press. JA 74.5.R48 2004 (New Book Shelf)
- Give
Me Liberty!: An American History. New York: W.W. Norton. E 178.F66
2005.
- The History of Human Rights: From Ancient Times to the Globalization Era. Berkeley: University of California Press. JC 571.I73 2004 (New Book Shelf)
- International
Politics: Enduring Concepts and Contemporary
Issues, 7th ed. New York: Pearson/Longman. JZ 1242.I574 2005
- The
Other World: Issues and Politics of the Developing
World, 6th ed. New York: Pearson/Longman. D 883.O87 2005
- Political
Ideologies: Their Origins and Impact. 8th ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice
Hall. JA 83.B248 2003
- Power
and Choice: An Introduction to Political
Science. New York: McGraw-Hill. JA 66.S47
2003
- Terrorism
and Counterterrorism: Understanding the
New Security Environment: Readings & Interpretations. Revised
and updated. Guilford, CT: McGraw-Hill/Dushkin.
HV 6432.T444 2004
- Women and Political Partipation: A Reference Handbook. HV 11.S77 2004 (New Book Shelf)
Full Text
- Academic
Search Premier
Full text database covering all subject areas, including
news articles.
Academic Search Premier Carries
full text of over 100 Political Science journals and over
3,400 journals in numerous fields.
- CQ
Researcher
Full text research reports on various social, political
and scientific “hot” topics.
CQ Researcher offers in-depth reports on issues of concern
to Congress, and all Americans. Topics range from social issues
to environment, health, education, science and technology.
There are 44 reports produced each year, including four expanded
reports.
- Directory
of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Full text database of free electronic journals.
The Directory of Open Access Journals provides access to
over 60 journals of Political Science and Law, and hundreds
in numerous other fields.
- Ethnic
Newswatch
Full text bilingual news and culture database.
The Ethnic Newswatch database offers news, journals and
magazines from ethnic, minority and native presses.
- JSTOR
Full
text database of journals in the Humanities and Arts and Sciences.
JSTOR carries full text of over 35 Political Science and
Population Studies journals, as well as hundreds of journals in
the Arts and Sciences.
- SpringerLink
Full text database of journals,
books, and reviews.
SpringerLink offers
full text of over 20 Political Science journals, including hundreds
of other scholarly journals.
- LexisNexis
Academic
Full text database for current news from worldwide sources,
as well as legal news, research and reviews.
Lexis Nexis Academic provides a wide range
of news, business, legal and reference information from over
5000 sources, compiled specifically for the research needs
of academic institutions. Guides are available from the site,
and tutorials from Duke or Yale.
- Military
and Government Collection
Database offering current news and scholarly resources pertaining
to all branches of the military.
The Military and Government
Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 300 journals
and periodicals and indexing
and abstracts for more than 400 titles. The database also includes
full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for
more than 500 titles.
- New
York State Newspapers Full Text
Full text database covering many major New York State newspapers.
The
New York State Newspapers Full Text database includes coverage of
the Binghamton Press & Sun-Bulletin, Buffalo News, New York Observer,
New York Post, New York Times, Rochester Democrat and Chronicle,
Syracuse Herald-American, Syracuse Herald-Journal, Syracuse Post-Standard,
and Westchester Journal News.
- New
York Times Historical from 1851
Full text coverage of the New York Times since its inception
with images and page maps.
The New York Times Historical database
offers searchable full text of all elements of the New York Times
newspapers since
1851. PDF versions of full-page maps and individual articles allow
for a better sense of the importance and placement of articles.
- Project
Muse
Full
text database of journals of Arts and Sciences.
Project Muse provides
full text access to over 25 journals in Political Science, Public Policy and
Population Studies, as well as hundreds of journals in the Arts
and Sciences.
- THOMAS:
Congressional Information
Full text of public bills and laws, committee reports, historical
documents and more.
The THOMAS collection offers full text of many current Congressional
documents, including bills, laws, voting records, committee reports
and Congressional news. The THOMAS website also offers full text
historical documents, such as the Constitution, Declaration of
Independence, Federalist Papers and Congressional documents and
debates from 1774-1873. Links to other Library of Congress services
are also available, such as the American Memory Project.
- TOPICsearch
Full
text database of current events articles.
TOPICsearch provides full text access to over
64,000 articles from more than 3,000 diverse sources for current
events in political, economic and scientific issues.
- U.S. Government Manual
A full text online handbook for the Federal Government that
includes information on agencies, officials, programs, and
organizations.
As the official handbook of the Federal Government,
the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information
on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches.
It also includes information on quasi-official agencies, international
organizations in which the United States participates, and boards,
commissions, and committees.
Statistical
- County and City
Data Books (GEOSTAT)
This electronic version of the 1988, 1994, and 2000 County
and City Data Books allows custom data subsets and printouts.
GEOSTAT’s County and City Data Books offer detailed census
data arranged by county, city and state for easy access. GEOSTAT’s
home page also offers additional statistical and geographic
data, including business, industry, crime and elections.
- CIA World
Factbook
World statistics including maps and country profiles that
are frequently updated. The CSI World Factbook provides maps,
country flags, worldwide and country statistics, including excellent
coverage of military
statistics. The World Factbook also provides statistics on
transnational issues, such as Illicit Drugs and Refugees.
- Infoshare
Database of immigration, socio-economic and other world
data with selection and processing tools. Infoshare provides population statistics, immigration trends,
socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations,
local economic data, and much more. Individuals can use various
tools to: profile areas; compare area across a region; produce
your own tabulations; print or save data to spreadsheet, presentation,
and mapping programs.
- Inter-University
Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
CSI is a member of this organization, which supplies data sets and other
information. More
- Statistical
Abstract of the United States
Electronic version of the national data book of United States
statistics compiled from various Federal agencies and private
organizations.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States
contains a collection of statistics on social and economic
conditions in
the United States. Selected international data are also included.
The Abstract is also a Guide to Sources of other data from
the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations.
- U.S.
Census Bureau
Home page of the Census Bureau offers numerous geographical,
economic and social statistics and facts.
In addition to
the statistical information, facts, geographical data and news, the
U.S. Census Bureau’s homepage provides tutorials on how to best use
the site and statistics. See their frequently asked questions for
more information.
Index and Abstracts
- America
History and Life
Index of periodicals and dissertations on American and Canadian
History.
America History and Life offers citations and abstracts
of journal articles, book and media reviews and dissertations
on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from more
than 2,100 journals in forty languages.
- EconLit
Comprehensive index and abstracts of Economics journals and books.
EconLit offers indexes and abstracts of the contents of
over 400, primarily English-language journals as well as articles
in collective volumes; citations from 1969, abstracts from 1987
to present. Full text links through EBSCO and other databases.
Considerable coverage of Political Science within Economics field.
- Historical
Abstracts
Comprehensive index of worldwide historical periodicals
and books.
Historical Abstracts indexes over 18,000 articles from over
2,100 journals published worldwide, plus books, from 1982. Links
to full text versions of available articles in JSTOR are now
accessible.
- Philosopher’s
Index
Index of books, journals and reviews for Philosophy.
The Philosopher’s Index provides indexing and abstracts
of articles, books, book reviews on Philosophy from 1940 to
the present. Covers material on the philosophy of disciplines,
such as law, religion, political science, history, and more.
Includes nearly 570 journals from 43 countries.
- Social
Sciences Abstracts
Comprehensive index of worldwide social sciences articles.
Extensive index to scholarly articles in professional journals
in all social sciences fields. Considerable coverage of
Political Science subject material.
- Sociological
Abstracts
Index of international Sociological periodicals and books.
Articles from about 2000 journals in 30 languages from some
55 countries, from 1973. Good coverage of Political Science subject
material.
- U.S. Government
Printing Office Publications
Catalog of all U.S. Government Publications.
The U.S. Government Printing Office Publications catalog
lists citations for all government publications. GPO Access provides
full text for many publications.
In the CSI
Collection
A complete list
of periodicals on Political Science and related disciplines
available at the CSI library can be found
at the “Journal Titles” link on the Library home page. In the “Browse
Journal by Subject” section, select either “Government, Law and Public
Policy” OR “Social and Behavioral Sciences” and then “Political Science”.
Then click “Search.” Format availability (print, microfilm, electronic)
will be indicated. Prominent titles include:
E-journals: Free
peer-reviewed journals available on the Web
Numerous E-journals in Political
Science and related disciplines are available on the Web. Some
are available
through the Directory of Open Access Journals (see this guide’s “Databases” section).
Many E-journals also appear in the “Journal Titles” link cited above.
A selection of prominent E-journals include:
- The
Cato Journal
http://www.cato.org/pubs/journal/index.html
The
Cato Journal is a peer-reviewed, free-market public policy journal
from the Cato Institute. It is intended for scholars
concerned with questions of public policy, but is written and edited
to be accessible to the interested lay reader.
- Chimera
http://www.usaafrica.org/chimera.html
Chimera is a quarterly
peer-reviewed electronic journal published by the U.S.A./Africa
Institute. The journal offers discussions
of culture, economic development, governance, diplomacy and more
as related to the U.S.A. and African initiatives.
- MERIA
(Middle East Review of International Affairs) Journal
http://meria.idc.ac.il/
The MERIA Journal is a quarterly peer-reviewed journal on modern Middle East
issues. Articles are available in English, and in translation in Arabic, French,
Italian, Spanish and Turkish.
- Peace
Ecnomics, Peace Science, and Public Policy http://www.bepress.com/peps/
The journal Peace Economics, Peace Science and Public Policy
aims to “further research in Peace Science… to expose the peace
science community… to innovative peace related research, and
to disseminate peace methods and analysis to a wider audience”.
This peer-reviewed journal is published quarterly.
- Tangentium
http://www.tangentium.org/
Tangentium is a peer-reviewed
bi-monthly online journal devoted to alternative perspectives
on IT, politics, education
and society.
- American
Political Science Association
http://apsanet.org/
The American Political Science Association
is “the leading professional organization for the
study of political science and serves more than 15,000
members in over 80 countries”. The APSA website offers
programs, publications, teaching information and
other resources. It also offers resources arranged
by audience, such as students, the public, departments,
and political scientists
-
Center for Systemic Peace (CSP)
http://members.aol.com/cspmgm/
The CSP “supports scientific research and quantitative analysis in many issue areas related to the fundamental problems of violence in both human relations and societal development”. This site offers comprehensive research reports as well as maps, charts, and useful definitions.
- Council on Foreign Relations (CFR)
http://www.cfr.org/
The CFR is a non-partisan organization dedicated to “promoted understanding of foreign policy and America’s role in the world,” and offers an online resource for those “who wants to learn more about the complex international issues challenging policy-makers and citizens alike.” This site offers links to full text primary documents (treaties, UN resolutions, speeches, etc.), editorials, interviews, and news coverage.
- FirstGov:
The U.S. Government’s Official Web Portal
http://www.firstgov.gov/
FirstGov offers links
to all US government sites of interest, including
the Executive, Legislative and Judicial branches,
information
on benefits, grants, defense, education and more.
- New
York State Home Page
http://www.state.ny.us/
New
York State government’s official portal for NY State information
including government, business, residential, healthcare, education
and other topics.
- New
York City Official Web Site
http://www.nyc.gov/
The
New York City official website offers various links and resources
from the Office of the Mayor, information and services for NYC
residents, businesses, visitors as well as government and community
information.
- Open Society Justice Initiative
http://www.justiceinitiative.org/
The Open Society Justice Initiative promotes “rights-based law reform worldwide” in the context of globalization. Major areas covered in this site include: national criminal justice reform, international justice, freedom of information and expression, equality and citizenship, anticorruption, and legal capacity development.
- Poly-Cy:
Internet Resources for Political Science
http://www.polsci.wvu.edu/PolyCy/
The Poly-Cy website provides links
to informative sites on all area of Political Science, including
sub-fields, specialist publications, reference, and government
sources. The site was created and maintained by Bob Duval of West
Virginia University.
- Public
Agenda Online
http://www.publicagenda.org/
Public Agenda Online is a great
resource, designed for journalists, but it’s a great site for
everyone, one of the best sites for non-partisan perspectives
on hot issues. Research, public opinion polls and at least three
different perspectives are offered for each issue discussed.
- The Ultimate Political Science Links Page
http://www.rvc.cc.il.us/faclink/pruckman/PSLinks.htm
This modestly-titled site, designed and maintained by Professor P.S. Ruckman of Rock Valley College, offers a comprehensive list of useful links of interest to political scientists. Links are updated frequently and are available for many topics, including: major associations, areas of study, resource links, on-line political news, daily/archived commentary, journals and publications, and more.
On the 2nd floor of the library (1L-201), Media Services houses a collection
of video resources for Political Science, including numerous documentaries
and feature films in areas of Political interest, both domestic and
international, such as PBS’ “The American Experience” series
and “The Heart of the Dragon” series on politics and government
in China.
Compiled by Prof. Catherine Perkins, June 2005. Last updated May 2006.
Suggestions/Comments?
|