| |
SELECTED RESOURCES FOR TOPICS IN PHILOSOPHY
Reference-
Selected from our Reference collection, located on
the 1st floor of the Library.
- A
Dictionary of Common Philosophical Terms. New
York: McGraw-Hill, Primis Custom Publishing. B 49.P37
2000
- Encyclopedia
of Chinese Philosophy. New York: Routledge.
B 126.E496 2003
- Encyclopedia
of the Enlightenment. 4 vols. Oxford; New
York: Oxford University Press. B 802.E53 2003 v.1-4
- Ethics.
Revised Edition. 3 vols. Pasadena, CA: Salem
Press. BJ 63.E54 2005 v.1-3
- The Oxford Handbook of Free Will. New York: Oxford University Press. BJ 1461.O94 2002
Index and Abstracts-
The following title is located in the Index and Abstracts
section on the 2nd floor of the Library.
- The
Philosopher’s Index
Index of books, journals and reviews in the field of Philosophy.
The Philosopher’s Index provides indexing and abstracts of
articles, books, book reviews on Philosophy. Covers ethics, aesthetics,
epistemology, logic, and metaphysics as well as material on the
philosophy of disciplines, such as law, religion, science, history,
and education.
Circulating Books-
Selected from our Circulating collection, located
on the 3rd floor of the Library.
- Agency and Action. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press. B 105.A35 A44 2004
- The
Cambridge History of Philosophy, 1870—1945. New
York: Cambridge University Press. B 72.C35 2003
- Contemporary Debates in teh Philosophy of Religion. Malden, MA: Blackwell.
BL 51.C63682 2004
- Philosophy, Biology, and Life. New York: Cambridge University Press. QH 331.P4677 2005
- Philosophy
Goes to the Movies: An Introduction to Philosophy. London;
New York: Routledge. BD 21.F34 2002
- Plato and the Good: Illuminating the Darkling Vision. Boston: Brill. B 398.G65 D47 2004
- The
Right Thing to Do: Basic Readings in Moral Philosophy. 3rd ed. Boston: McGraw-Hill. BJ 21.R54 2003
- The Sacred and the Monstrous. Lanham, MD: Lexington Books. BJ 1459.5.H36 2004
- Taking
sides: Clashing views on controversial issues in religion. Guilford,
CT: McGraw-Hill/Dushkin. BL 1.T35 2003
Indexes and Abstracts-
- Philosopher’s
Index
Index of books, journals and reviews for Philosophy.
The Philosopher’s Index provides indexing and abstracts of
articles, books, book reviews on Philosophy from 1940 to the present.
Covers ethics, aesthetics, epistemology, logic, and metaphysics
as well as material on the philosophy of disciplines, such as law,
religion, science, history, and education. Includes nearly 570
journals from 43 countries.
- Humanities
Abstracts
Index of books, journals and reviews for all Humanities fields.
Humanities Abstracts Offers indexing and abstracts for over 40
Philosophy journals (coverage from 1983 to the present) and hundreds
more in the Humanities, including some of the best-known scholarly
journals and numerous specialized magazines.
- MLA
Bibliography
Index of books, journals and reviews for Literature, Language and
related Humanities fields.
The MLA Bibliography provides access to more than 1.5 million bibliographic
citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations from 1963
to the present in disciplines such as: language, literature, criticism,
the dramatic arts. Some coverage of journals and books on Philosophy
is included.
Full Text-
- Academic
Search Premier
Full text database covering all subject areas, including news articles.
Academic Search Premier Carries full text of over 80 Philosophy
journals and over 3,400 journals in numerous fields.
- Directory
of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Full text database of free electronic journals.
The Directory of Open Access Journals provides access to over 45
journals on Philosophy and Religion, and hundreds in numerous other
fields.
- SpringerLink
Full text database of journals, books, and reviews.
SpringerLink offers full text of over 70 Philosophy journals,
including hundreds of other scholarly journals.
- JSTOR
Full text database of journals in the Humanities and Arts and Sciences.
JSTOR carries full text of over 25 Philosophy and Religion journals,
as well as hundreds of journals in the Arts and Sciences.
- The Perseus
Digital Library
Full text collection of primary documents for studies in the Humanities.
The first project of the Perseus Digital Library at Tufts University
was Greek literature and archaeology; it is now an evolving digital
library for the humanities, including significant primary sources
in Philosophy.
- Project
Muse
Full text database of journals of Arts and Sciences.
Project Muse provides full text access to over 20 journals in Philosophy,
Philosophy & Science, and Religion, as well as hundreds of
journals in the Arts and Science.
In the CSI Collection-
A complete list of periodicals on Philosophy and related disciplines
available at the CSI library can be found at the “Journal
Titles” link on the Library home page. In the “Browse
Journal by Subject” section, select “Religion and
Philosophy” and click “Search.” Format availability
(print, microfilm, electronic) will be indicated. Prominent
titles include:
E-journals: Free peer-reviewed journals available
on the Web-
Numerous E-journals in Philosophy and related disciplines
are available on the Web. Some are available through the Directory
of Open Access Journals (see this guide’s “Databases” section).
Many E-journals also appear in the “Journal Titles” link
cited above. A selection of prominent E-journals include:
- Animus
http://www.swgc.mun.ca/animus
Animus is a peer-reviewed electronic journal that “aims at
an understanding of the works of Western civilization and contemporary
views of these works. It seeks to promote a standpoint which is
critical of dogmatic positions both within contemporary views and
within the Western tradition itself.” Full Text of back-issues
of the journal is free, but you must subscribe to download the
current issue of the journal.
- CTHEORY
http://www.ctheory.net/home.aspx
CTHEORY is a Full Text international peer-reviewed electronic journal
of theory, technology, and culture, publishing articles, interviews,
event-scenes and book reviews.
- Electronic Journal of Analytic Philosophy
http://ejap.louisiana.edu/
The Electronic Journal of Analytic Philosophy is a Full Text peer-reviewed
electronic journal covering “analytic philosophy as characterized
by a free use of formal methods, a close relationship with the
natural and social sciences, and an incremental approach to problem
solving”.
- Journal of Religion and Film
http://www.unomaha.edu/jrf
The Journal of Religion and Film is a Full Text peer-reviewed electronic
journal that examines the description, critique, and embodiment
of religion in film. This e-journal is also indexed in the MLA
International Bibliography.
- Minerva
http://www.ul.ie/~philos/index.html
Minerva is a Full Text peer-reviewed electronic journal that publishes
articles relating to philosophy construed in a broad but scholarly
sense, without preference for any particular school or intellectual
tradition.
- Philosopher’s Imprint
http://www.philosophersimprint.org/
Philosopher’s Imprint is a Full Text peer-reviewed electronic
journal whose subject matter “is not restricted to any particular
field or school of Philosophy. Its target audience consists primarily
of academic philosophers and philosophy students, but it also aims
to attract non-academic readers to philosophy by making excellent
philosophical scholarship available without license or subscription.”
- polylog: Forum for Intercultural Philosophy
http://prof.polylog.org/index-en.htm
polylog is a Full Text peer-reviewed electronic and print journal
whose content focuses upon the discussion of contemporary global
challenges in philosophy as well as questions from a broad interdisciplinary
field concerning presuppositions, amendments, and extensions of
a philosophical polylogue.
- Psyche
http://psyche.cs.monash.edu.au/
Psyche is a Full Text peer-reviewed electronic journal dedicated
to supporting the interdisciplinary exploration of the nature of
consciousness and its relation to the brain through the disciplines
of cognitive science, philosophy, psychology, physics, neuroscience,
artificial intelligence and anthropology. The Website also offers
book reviews, symposia and listserv discussions.
- Sorites
http://www.sorites.org/
Sorites is a Full Text peer-reviewed electronic journal of analytical
philosophy, “dedicated to the promotion of analytical standards
of rigour and clarity.” This e-journal is also indexed and
abstracted by The Philosopher’s Index.
- American Philosophical Association
http://www.apa.udel.edu/apa/index.html
The American Philosophical Association is the main professional
organization for philosophers in the United States. The site provides
a useful Resources section that includes a guide to philosophical
resources on the Web, including a database of active women philosophers,
and a list of sites dedicated to philosophers.
- Philosophy @ Large
http://www.liv.ac.uk/pal
Philosophy @ Large is a comprehensive Web guide for the Philosophy
community maintained by the Philosophy Department at the University
of Liverpool.
- PhilSci Archive
http://philsci-archive.pitt.edu/
The PhilSci Archive is a collection of preprints posted on the
philosophy of science or related material of interest to philosophers
of science. The range of admissible topics and the style of analysis
is set by the topics and styles of material publishable in the
Philosophy of Science Association journal, Philosophy of Science.
Preprints are not reviewed before posting.
- Some Texts from Early Modern Philosophy
http://www.earlymoderntexts.com/
Thie site presents modernized versions of key English language texts by 16th-, 17th-, and 18th-century philosophers, including Locke, Spinoza, Kant, Leibniz, Mill, etc. All texts are translated by philosopher Jonathan Bennett (formerly of Syracuse Univeristy) and are available in full text PDF format.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
http://plato.stanford.edu/contents.html
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy features hundreds of articles,
and is searchable and browsable. It is a dynamic reference work;
therefore each entry is kept up to date. An editorial board referees
all entries and updates before they are made public.
On the 2nd floor of the library (1L-201), Media Services houses
a collection of video resources in Philosophy, including the “Great
Philosophers” series as well as videos on the Enlightenment
and Comparative Mythology/Philosophy.
Compiled by Prof. Catherine Perkins, May 2005. Last updated May 2006.
Suggestions/Comments?
|