College of Staten Island Library
MARKETING RESEARCH GUIDE
Reference Resources
-
Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys
Reference HC 106.6 .S74 Library has latest year.
Overviews of major industrial and service sectors, focusing on the short-term
industry outlook. Sometimes includes market share, distribution channels
and advertising expenditures.
-
Value Line Investment Survey.
Reference Desk in Print and Online
Financial analysis of industries in 13 editions. Each edition updated
quarterly.
Electronic Resources
-
Business
Source Premier
Provides FULL TEXT for 2,260 scholarly business journals in management, economics,
finance, accounting, and much more. Company information from Datamonitor.
-
Business and Company
Resource Center
Company and Industry Information. Browse or search SIC codes or NAICS codes.
-
County and City Data Books (GEOSTAT)
http://fisher.lib.Virginia.EDU/ccdb/
Contains the online version of the 1988 and 1994 Data Books. FREE access.
-
ICPSR Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
ICPSR Direct is a new service providing direct access to the ICPSR data holdings for all students, faculty, and staff at ICPSR member institutions.
-
Infoshare
Population statistics, immigration trends, socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations, local economic data, and much more.
-
Lexis-Nexis Academic
FULL TEXT database that provides a wide range of news,
business, legal and reference information from over 5000 sources, compiled specifically
for the research needs of academic institutions.
Government Documents
-
United States Census 2000
http://www.census.gov/main/www/cen2000.html
-
American FactFinder
http://factfinder.census.gov/
This web site will be the Census Bureau's primary vehicle for distributing
the 2000 Census of Population and Housing, 1997 Economic Census, and American
Community Survey. Currently includes 1990 Census Quick and Detailed Tables, American Community Survey 1996-97, 1997 Economic Census data as released,
and basic reference and thematic maps.
-
Statistical Abstract of
the United States
http:// www.census.gov/statab/www/
Statistical compendium, which covers a wide variety of topics, including
population, vital statistics, health and nutrition, education, business,
manufactures and trade. Tables provide summary statistics with footnotes indicating sources for more detailed data.
-
FEDSTATS
http://www.fedstats.gov/
"FedStats is the new window on the full range of official statistical information available to the public from the Federal Government.
Use the Internet's powerful linking and searching capabilities to track economic and population trends, education,
health care costs, aviation safety, foreign trade, energy use, farm production, and more.
Access official statistics collected and published by more than 100 Federal agencies without having to know in advance which agency produces them."
(from the web site)
-
Library of Congress Business Research
http://www.loc.gov/rr/business/
Marketing Research
http://www.loc.gov/rr/business/beonline/subjects.php?SubjectID=43
"Business Reference Services is the starting point for conducting research at the Library of Congress in the subject areas of business and economics. Here, reference specialists in specific subject areas of business assist patrons in formulating search strategies and gaining access to the information and materials contained in the Library's rich collections of business and economics materials." (from the web site)
Internet Resources
-
NAICS Association
http://www.naics.com/
"Beginning in 1997, the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) was replaced by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). This six digit code is a major revision that not only provides for newer industries, but also reorganizes the categories on a production/process-oriented basis. This new, uniform, industry-wide classification system has been designed as the index for statistical reporting of all economic activities of the U.S., Canada, and Mexico. For more information on NAICS and SIC see our NAICS Info or FAQ pages." (from the web site)
-
AnnualReports.com
http://annualreports.com/
"A leading provider of online annual reports to individual and institutional investors.
This Free Service allows users to review an annual report in an easy and convenient manner. Boasting the most complete and up-to-date listings of annual reports on the internet, AnnualReports.com provides instant access to annual reports in their actual format in one single location." (from the web site)
-
American Customer Satisfaction Index
http://www.theacsi.org/overview.htm
"Established in 1994, the American Customer Satisfaction Index (ACSI) is a uniform and independent measure of household consumption experience. A powerful economic indicator, the ACSI tracks trends in customer satisfaction and provides valuable benchmarking insights of the consumer economy for companies, industry trade associations, and government agencies." (from the web site)
-
NY Public Library SIBL Market Research Guide
http://www.nypl.org/research/sibl/consumer/
Three areas of research are targeted: potential customers; competitors; state of the industry.
Included are print resources available at SIBL, the Science, Industry, and Business Library of the NYPL, as well as online resources,
both free access and library access.
Prepared by Prof. Linda Roccos, September 2004