Books Articles Research Assistance Services About CSI Library Home CSI Home CUNY Home
College of Staten Island Curve
Return Home
Return Home
 


SELECTED RESOURCES FOR LITERATURE IN ENGLISH

Print Resources Databases Periodicals Internet Resources Media Resources

Print Resources

 
Reference-

Selections from our Reference collection, located on the 1st floor of the Library.

  • The Cambridge History of African and Caribbean Literature. New York: Cambridge University Press. PN 841.I74 2004
  • Contemporary Literary Criticism. Detroit: Gale Research. PN 771.C59
  • Cyclopedia of World Authors, 4th ed. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press. PN 451.M36 2004
  • Drama for Students. Detroit: Gale Research. PN 1601.D595
  • Multicultural Writers Since 1945: An A-to-Z Guide. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press. PN 452.M88 2004
  • Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism. Detroit: Gale Research. PN 761.N5
  • The Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd ed. New York: Oxford University Press. PE 1625.O87
  • Poetry Criticism. Detroit: Gale Research. PN 1010.P499
  • Shakespearean Criticism. Detroit: Gale Research. PN 2965.S43
Index and Abstracts-

Selections from our Index and Abstracts section on the West side of the 2nd floor of the Library.

  • Book Review Digest
    Book Review Digest provides citations to reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Current holdings: 1905-1995.
  • Comprehensive Index to Little Magazines
    Index to small press magazines, journals and other related publications. "Little magazines publish creative, often innovative work. They provide an outlet for new creative work in literature and the other arts which in many cases is outside the criteria governing most mainstream journals. They sometimes have very small print runs and may last for relatively few issues." Current holdings: 1890-1970.
  • Essay and General Literature Index
    Index of citations to essays and articles in collections and miscellaneous works published in English. Current holdings: 1900-1994.
  • Humanities Index
    Index of books, journal articles and reviews for all Humanities fields. Current holdings: 1974-1994.
  • International Index to Periodicals
    Index to all perdiodical literature, an excellent resource for popular magazines and journals. Current holdings: 1907-1955.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    A Comprehensive index of books, journal articles and reviews in the field of Literature. Current holdings: 1921-2004.
  • Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
    Index for articles in early English Language periodicals. Current holdings: 1802-1906.
  • Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature
    Index to all perdiodical literature, and an excellent resource for early popular magazines and journals. Current holdings: 1900-1995.

Circulating Books-

Selections from our Circulating collection, located on the 3rd floor of the Library.

  • An Anthology of Basque Short Stories. Reno: Center for Basque Studies, University of Nevada, Reno. PH 5397.E8 A56 2004
  • Cassell's History of English Literature. New York: Sterling Publishing Company. PR 83.C62 2003
  • Coming of Age as a Poet: Milton, Keats, Eliot, Plath. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press. PR 502.V46 2003
  • A Companion to English Renaissance Literature and Culture. Oxford, UK: Blackwell. PR 411.C66 2003
  • Modern South Asian Literature in English. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press. PR 9484.6.B75 2003
  • Satire and the Postcolonial Novel: V.S. Naipaul, Chinua Achebe, Salman Rushdie. New York: Routledge. PR 888.S3 B35 2003
  • Speaking Grief in English Literary Culture: Shakespeare to Milton. Pittsburgh, PA: Duquesne University Press. PR 428.G74 S64 2002

Databases

Return to Top
Indexes and Abstracts-
  • Book Review Digest
    Index of book reviews since 1983.
    Book Review Digest contains citations and provides excerpts of reviews of current English-language books since 1983 in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
  • Essay and General Literature Index
    Index of articles and essays in collections in English.
    Essay and General Literature Index contains citations to essays and articles in collections and miscellaneous works published in English, with more than 300 volumes added annually.
  • Humanities Abstracts
    Index of books, journals and reviews for all Humanities fields.
    Humanities Abstracts Offers indexing and abstracts of hundreds of literature journals (coverage from 1983 to the present) and hundreds more in the Humanities, including some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous specialized magazines.
  • Literary Index
    Index to American and British Literature reference books.
    Master index to 675 volumes of 32 literary series published by Gale Research Inc. More than 110,000 author names & pseudonyms, and over 120,000 titles.
  • MLA Bibliography
    Index of books, journals and reviews for Literature, Language and related Humanities fields.
    The MLA Bibliography provides access to more than 1.5 million bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations from 1963 to the present in disciplines such as: language, literature, criticism, the dramatic arts.
  • Reader's Guide Abstracts (1983 to Present)
    Readers Guide Abstracts (1983 to present) offers indexing and abstracts to a range of popular magazine articles.
  • Reader's Guide Retrospective (1890 to 1982)
    Reader's Guide Retrospective (1890-1982) offers indexing and abstracts to a range of popular magazine articles.

Full Text-

  • Academic Search Premier
    Full text database covering all subject areas, including news articles.
    Academic Search Premier carries full text of hundreds of literature journals and over 3,400 journals in numerous fields.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
    Full text database of free electronic journals.
    The Directory of Open Access Journals provides access to over 75 journals on Languages and Literatures, and hundreds in numerous other fields.
  • JSTOR
    Full text database of journals in the Humanities and Arts and Sciences.
    JSTOR carries full text of over 58 journal titles in the Language and Literature Collection, as well as hundreds of journals in the Arts and Sciences.
  • Literature Resource Center
    Full text database of biographical and critical articles.
    Literature Resource Center provides criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews, explications, articles, reading lists, and authors' works in full text from Gale's Contemporary Authors and Literature Criticism series.
  • Oxford English Dictionary
    Full text access to the latest definitions from the Oxford English Dictionary.
    "The Definitive Record of the English Language" with the complete 2nd edition online, plus new entries and updates are created continuously.
  • Project Muse
    Full text database of journals of Arts and Sciences.
    Project Muse provides full text access to over 71 journals in Literature as well as hundreds of journals in the Arts and Sciences.

Periodicals

Return to Top

In the CSI Collection-
A complete list of periodicals on Literature and related disciplines available at the CSI library can be found at the “Journal Titles” link on the Library home page. In the “Browse Journal by Subject” section, select “Languages and Literatures” and click “Search.” Format availability (print, microfilm, electronic) will be indicated. Prominent titles include:

 

E-journals: Free peer-reviewed journals available on the Web-
Numerous E-journals in Literature and related disciplines are available on the Web. Some are available through the Directory of Open Access Journals (see this guide’s “Databases” section). Many E-journals also appear in the “Journal Titles” link cited above. A selection of prominent E-journals include:

  • CLCWeb: Comparative Literature and Culture: A WWWeb Journal
    http://clcwebjournal.lib.purdue.edu/
    CLCWeb: Comparative Literature and Culture is a peer-reviewed quarterly of scholarship in the humanities and social sciences.
  • Early Modern Literary Studies
    http://purl.org/emls

    Early Modern Literary Studies is a peer-reviewed journal serving as a formal arena for scholarly discussion and as an academic resource for researchers in the area. Articles in EMLS examine English literature, literary culture, and language during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.
  • Journal of Language and Literature
    http://www.shakespeare.uk.net/journal/jllit_home.html

    The Journal of Language and Literature is a peer-reviewed journal. The scope of the journal includes both theoretical and applied topics in literary studies, linguistics, stylistics and language teaching.
  • Postcolonial Text
    http://postcolonial.org/index.php/pct/index.php

    Postcolonial Text is a peer-reviewed open access journal that publishes articles, book reviews, interviews, poetry and fiction on postcolonial, transnational, and indigenous themes.
  • Renaissance Forum
    http://www.hull.ac.uk/renforum

    Renaissance Forum is an interdisciplinary peer-reviewed journal. It specializes in early-modern English literary and historical scholarship and in the critical methodologies of these fields.
  • Romanticism on the Net
    http://www.ron.umontreal.ca/

    Romanticism on the Net is an international peer-reviewed electronic journal devoted to British Romantic studies.

Internet Resources

Return to Top
  • Contemporary Postcolonial and Postimperial Literature in English
    http://www.scholars.nus.edu.sg/landow/post/index.html
    Postcolonial and Postimperial Literature is created and maintained by George P. Landow, at the University of Singapore. This site provides detailed information regarding postcolonial and postimperial authors and their literature, as well as the social, economic and political issues affecting these nations.
  • CSI Department of English, Speech and World Literature
    http://163.238.8.180/~esw/

    The College of Staten Island's English, Speech and World Literature Department's home page offers information about the programs, majors, BA and MA degrees offered, as well as faculty and staff bio and contact information.
  • CSI Library - Brief Guide to MLA Style
    http://www.library.csi.cuny.edu/guides/mlastyle.rtf

    This is a .RTF (text) document hilighting the basics of using MLA style for writing research papers. The document offers tips for in-text citations as well as notes and works cited.
  • The Library of Congress Poetry Page
    http://www.loc.gov/poetry/

    The Library of Comgress Poetry page offers access to poetry news, events, webcasts, fellowships and awards, as well as full text of original poems, and links to the many poetry resources available through the Library of Congress.
  • Literary Resources on the Net
    http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~jlynch/Lit/
    Literary Resources on the Net is maintained by Jack Lynch of Rutgers Univeristy, Newark. A collection of links to Internet sites dealing especially with research in English and American Literature. Offers well-organized and useful links relating to all periods of English Literature.
  • Luminarium
    http://www.luminarium.org/
    Luminarium is maintained by Anniina Jokinen. The site offers an anthology of texts, research and biographical information and links covering Medieval, Renaissance and Seventeenth-century English Literature. This site has received numerous awards since its inception in 1996.
  • TEAMS Middle English Texts
    http://www.lib.rochester.edu/camelot/teams/tmsmenu.htm

    The TEAMS Middle English Texts site is created and maintained by The Consortium for the Teaching of the Middle Ages and Medieval Institute Publications. The site's mission is "is to make available to teachers and students texts which occupy an important place in the literary and cultural canon but which have not been readily available in student editions."
  • The University of Virginia's Electronic Text Center: English Language
    http://etext.virginia.edu/collections/languages/english/
    The University of Virginia's comprehensive e-text Library offers full text access to hundreds of works from all periods written in the English language. Full text access includes novels, essays, drama, poetry, magazines, dictionaries, and historical and philosophical texts as well.
  • Voice of the Shuttle: Literature in English
    http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=3

    The voice of the Shuttle is maintained by Alan Liu and the Univeristy of California Santa Barbara. This site is an expansive source offering research and links for all periods of English Literature. Winner of many awards including the Forbes' Summer 2002 Best of the Web award in the area of Academic Research.

Media

Return to Top
On the 2nd floor of the library (1L-201), Media Services houses a collection of video resources on Literature, including feature films, documentaries, and study aides, including "Sylvia," "A Survey of American Literature, 1620 to the Present," "A Room of One's Own," "F. Scott Fitzgerald" and more.

 

Compiled by Prof. Catherine Perkins, May 2006.
Suggestions/Comments?

space
Archives & Special Collections | Faculty Support | Media Services
CSI Links | CSI Home | CUNY | Beyond CSI

Books Articles Research Assistance Services About CSI Library Home CSI Home CUNY Home