CUNY+
is the online catalog for CUNY Libraries to locate books and all media
1. After your search, CLICK on the "TITLE" Link for complete bibliographic record, including subject headings.
2. Or CLICK on the link to "STATEN ISLAND" for location information, call number and status.
You can request a book from another CUNY Library from the CLICS program.
CLICK on "Select all CUNY Libraries" for your search.
Then click on the "Name" of the Library,
and then click the "Request" link from that libraries Holdings/Location link.
FInally, enter your Library Bar Code Number and password, which is the same number.
WorldCat:
Access from: http://www.library.csi.cuny.edu/books/booksindex.php
Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries; Offers millions of bibliographic records;
Includes records representing 400 languages.
Interlibrary Loan is available simply by clicking the "ILL" button.
Worldcat.org is the freely available search, and libraries are found by zip code.
-
Hundreds of eBook reference works including multi-volume encyclopedias,
biographical collections, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources.
America History and Life -
Citations and abstracts of journal articles, book and media
reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S.
and Canada from more than 2,100 journals in forty languages.
The American Civil War Research Database
is the definitive online resource for researching the individuals, regiments, and battles of the American Civil War.
Originally created by Historical Data Systems, Inc., the database contains indexed, searchable information
on over 4 million soldiers and thousands of battles, together with 15,000 photographs.
Historical Abstracts
Indexes over 18,000 articles based on review of over 2,100 journals published worldwide, plus books, from 1982. Links to JSTOR are now available.
Click here for a list of the journal titles indexed.
Humanities Abstracts
and FULL TEXT
Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.
JSTOR
has FULL TEXT articles from the first issue of several hundred journals
in the Arts & Sciences I-IV, General Science, Language & Literature collections.
Try their Search Tutorial or
their Browse Tutorial.
The New York Times Historical from 1851
Searchable FULL TEXT from the first issue with page format results from 1851-2003.
(Recent issues available from Lexis-Nexis)
Project Muse
- Project MUSEŽ offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. As one of the academic community's primary electronic journals resources, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
AP Images -
Over 700,000 from the Associated Press's current year's photo report, together with a
selection of other 19th and 20th Century images from world wide sources.
American Memory from the Library of Congress
"provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings,
still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections
of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places,
and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning."
American Presidency Project
Online collection of papers, speeches (both audio and video),
and documents relating to United States presidents and presidential elections.
In the First Person (Ebsco)
Is an in-depth index of more than 3,350 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world.
It lets you keyword search more than 650,000 pages of full-text by more than 15,000 individuals from all walks of life.
It also contains pointers to some 3,500 audio and video files and 30,000 bibliographic records.
Making of America
- a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Voice of the Shuttle -
VOS for History
Forbes magazine lists VoS in its Summer 2002 Best of the Web directory (in the category for Academic Research).
WWW Virtual Library -
WWW for History
The oldest catalog of the web, started by Tim Berners-Lee, the creator of html and the web itself. Unlike commercial catalogs, it is run by a loose confederation of volunteers, who compile pages of key links for particular areas in which they are expert.