 |
SELECTED RESOURCES FOR TOPICS IN
GEOGRAPHY
Reference-
Selected from our Reference collection, located on the 1st floor
of the Library.
- 21st Century
World Atlas. Naples,
Fla.: Trident Press International. G 1021.A14 2000 (Atlas
case)
- The
Challenge of Slums: Global Report on Human Settlements 2003. Sterling, VA: EarthScan Publications,
Ltd. HV 4028.C48 2003
- Historical
Atlas of Ancient America. New York: Checkmark Books. G 1101.E6 B3 2001 (Atlas case)
- New
York: The Photo Atlas: A Tour of All Five Boroughs and More. New York: HarperResource. F
128.37.N75 2004 (Atlas case)
- New
York State Statistical Yearbook. Albany, New York: Nelson A. Rockefeller Institute of Government,
State University of New York. HA 544.A2 (latest edition
at the Reference Desk)
- The
Penguin Dictionary of Geography, 3rd ed. New York: Penguin Books. G
63.C562 2003
- Statistical
Abstract of the United States. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the
Census. HA 202.A3 (latest edition at the Reference Desk)
- Statistical
Yearbook. New
York: United Nations. HA 12.5.U63 2004 (latest edition
at the Reference Desk)
- The
Times Atlas of European History. New York: Harper Collins Publishers. G 1797.21.S1 T5 1994
- Worldmark
Encyclopedia of the States, 6th ed. Detriot: Thomson/Gale. E
156.W67 2004.
Circulating
Books-
Selected from our Circulating collection, located on the 3rd floor
of the Library.
- Countries
and Concepts: Politics, Geography, Culture, 7th ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ:
Prentice Hall. JF 51.R54 2001
- Diversity Amid Globalization: World Regions, Environment, Development, 2nd ed. Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Prentice Hall. G 128.D58 2003
- Geography
and History: Bridging the Divide. New York:
Cambridge University Press. G 141.B29 2003
- The Geography of Urban Transportation, 3rd ed. New York: The Guilford Press. 2004. ON ORDER
- The
Other World: Issues and Politics of the Developing World, 6th ed New
York: Pearson/Longman. D 883 .O87 2005
- World
Regional Geography: Global Patterns, Local Lives, 2nd ed. New
York: W.H. Freeman. G 128.P85 2002
Full Text-
- Academic
Search Premier
Full text database covering all subject areas, including
news articles.
Academic Search Premier Carries
full text of over 103 Geography journals and over 3,400 other
journals in numerous fields.
- Business
Source Premier
Full text articles and resources for Business and related
areas.
Business Source Premier carries full text access to 28 Geography
journals, as well as comprehensive company and investment information.
- Ethnic
Newswatch
Full text bilingual news and culture database.
The Ethnic Newswatch database offers news, journals and
magazines from ethnic, minority and native presses.
-
JSTOR
Full text database
of journals in the Humanities and Arts and Sciences.
JSTOR carries full text of 8 Geography journals, as well
as hundreds of journals in the Arts and Sciences.
-
LexisNexis
Academic
Full text database for current news from worldwide sources,
as well as legal news, research and reviews.
Lexis Nexis Academic provides a wide range
of news, business, legal and reference information from over
5000 sources, compiled specifically for the research needs of
academic
institutions. Guides are available from the site, and tutorials
from Duke or Yale.
-
MasterFile
Premier
Full text for over 1,800 periodicals, including biographies.
MasterFile Premier provides full text of over 40 Geography
journals, and over 1,800 other periodicals, plus biographical
information and primary sources.
- Military
and Government Collection
Database offering current news and scholarly resources pertaining
to all branches of the military.
The Military and Government Collection provides cover-to-cover
full text for more than 300 journals and periodicals and indexing
and abstracts for more than 400 titles. The database also includes
full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts
for more than 500 titles.
- New
York State Newspapers Full Text
Full text database covering many major New York State newspapers.
The New York State Newspapers Full Text database includes
coverage of the Binghamton Press & Sun-Bulletin, Buffalo
News, New York Observer, New York Post, New York Times, Rochester
Democrat and Chronicle, Syracuse Herald-American, Syracuse
Herald-Journal, Syracuse Post-Standard, and Westchester Journal
News.
- New
York Times Historical from 1851
Full text coverage of the New York Times since its inception
with images and page maps.
The New York Times Historical database offers searchable
full text of all elements of the New York Times newspapers
since 1851. PDF versions of full-page maps and individual
articles allow for a better sense of the importance and
placement of articles.
- ScienceDirect
Comprehensive Science full text database.
ScienceDirect provides full text for almost 1,000 titles
from 1997, including 7 Geography journals; abstracts
from 1995, as well as indexing to over 1,200 titles from
Elsevier.
Index and
Abstracts-
- Applied
Science and Technology Abstracts
Index for various periodicals and trade publications in
the Applied Sciences and Technology.
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts provides an index
of science, engineering and technology articles, with substantial
coverage of Geography. Includes over 350 trade and industrial
publications, from 1983.
- General
Science Abstracts
Indexing and abstracts for periodicals in the sciences.
General Science Abstracts has indexes to many Geography
periodicals, as well as many popular and some scholarly articles
in magazines and journals on a range of science subjects;
indexes from 1984, abstracts from 1993.
- U.S. Government
Printing Office Publications
Catalog of all U.S. Government Publications.
The U.S. Government Printing Office
Publications catalog lists citations for all government
publications. GPO Access provides full text for many publications.
Statistical-
- County and City
Data Books (GEOSTAT)
This electronic version of the 1988, 1994, and 2000 County
and City Data Books allows custom data subsets and printouts.
GEOSTAT’s County and City Data Books offer detailed census
data arranged by county, city and state for easy access. GEOSTAT’s
home page also offers additional statistical and geographic data,
including business, industry, crime and elections.
-
CIA World
Factbook
World statistics including maps and country profiles that
are frequently updated.
The CSI World Factbook provides maps, country flags, worldwide
and country statistics, including excellent coverage of military
statistics. The World Factbook also provides statistics on transnational
issues, such as Illicit Drugs and Refugees.
- CountryWatch
Basic country data including maps.
CountryWatch provides basic data for 191 countries such
as population, currency, maps, current news and time, as well as
profiles in agriculture, economy, energy, environment, history and
people.
- Geodata
Provides access to government geospatial data and information.
Geodata is part of the One-Stop E-Gov initiative providing
access to geospatial data and information.
- Infoshare
Database of immigration, socio-economic and other world
data with selection and processing tools.
Infoshare provides population statistics, immigration trends,
socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations,
local economic data, and much more. Individuals can use various
tools to: profile areas; compare area across a region; produce
your own tabulations; print or save data to spreadsheet, presentation,
and mapping programs.
- Statistical
Abstract of the United States
Electronic version of the national data book of United States
statistics compiled from various Federal agencies and private
organizations.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States contains a
collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in
the United States. Selected international data are also included.
The Abstract is also a Guide to Sources of other data from the
Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations.
- U.S.
Census Bureau
Home page of the Census Bureau offers numerous geographical,
economic and social statistics and facts.
In addition to the statistical information, facts, geographical
data and news, the U.S. Census Bureau’s homepage provides tutorials
on how to best use the site and statistics. See their frequently
asked questions for more information.
In the CSI Collection
A complete list of periodicals on Political Science
and related disciplines available at the CSI library can be found at
the “Journal Titles” link on the Library home page. In the “Browse
Journal by Subject” section, select “Social Sciences” and click “Search” to reveal the Geography sub-headings, including "Atlases & Maps," "Catrography," and "Physical Geography." Format availability (print, microfilm, electronic)
will be indicated. Prominent titles include:
E-journals: Free
peer-reviewed journals available on the Web
Numerous E-journals in Geography and related
disciplines are available on the Web. Some are available through the
Directory of Open Access Journals (see this guide’s “Databases” section).
Many E-journals also appear in the “Journal Titles” link cited above.
A selection of prominent E-journals include:
- ACME:
An International E-Journal for Critical Geographies
http://www.acme-journal.org/
The ACME journal is a peer-reviewed
online international journal for “critical and radical analyses
of the social, the spatial and the political”. The purpose
of this quarterly journal is “to provide a forum for the publication
of critical radical work about space in the social sciences”.
- The
Brazillian Journal of Cartography
http://www2.prudente.unesp.br/rbc/rbc_e.htm
The Brazilian Journal of Cartography is the official Journal
of the Brazilian Society of Cartography, Geodesy, Photogrammetry
and Remote Sensing (SBC). Its mission is to publish papers,
book reviews and communications, as well as other topics of
interest related to Cartography, Geodesy, Photogrammetry, Remote
Sensing. These peer-reviewed articles are published three times
a year, usually in English, with some in Portuguese and Spanish.
- GIDA:
Journal of Geographic Information and Decision Analysis
http://www.geodec.org/
The Journal of Geographic Information and Decision Analysis
was published freely online from 1997 through 2003. This
journal was devoted to the rapid dissemination of current
research on geographic information-based decision analysis.
The archives of this peer-reviewed journal are still available
online, and new articles are published in the subscription-only
journal Applied GIS.
- The
Industrial Geographer
http://igeographer.lib.indstate.edu/
The Industrial Geographer, a semi-annual, peer-reviewed
journal publishes articles and research notes that focus
on a broad range of economic issues across all economic
sectors and explore issues at all scales from the firm
to the globe. The Industrial Geographer is a collaborative
effort between the ISU Cunningham Memorial Library and
the Department of Geography, Geology, & Anthropology.
- International
Journal of Health Geographics
http://www.ij-healthgeographics.com/home/
The International Journal of Health Geographics publishes
peer-reviewed articles on the application of geographic
information systems and science in public health, healthcare,
health services, and health resources. Published irregularly
and maintained by BioMed Central.
- CyberGeo:
European Journal of Geography
http://www.cybergeo.presse.fr/
Articles, news, bibliographies, book reviews, and other
resources for research in Geography. The articles are not peer-reviewed,
but there is much information of use and interest on this site.
- ERsys
http://www.ersys.com/
“Using maps, charts, reports, and relevant links, ERsys
covers over 2,600 US cities with detailed information on demographics,
environmental factors, economic indicators, housing stats, media transportation,
and more”. While this site is largely used for those considering relocating,
the data is useful to many, and conveniently aggregated.
- GeoSource
http://www.library.uu.nl/geosource/
Award winning collection of links to web resources for human
geography, physical geography, planning, geoscience and environmental
science. Maintained by Jeroen Bosman of the Central Library, Utrecht
University.
- Internet
Resources for Geographers
http://www.colorado.edu/geography/virtdept/resources/contents.htm
An excellent collection of links including educational resources,
geo-spatial datasets, software, map collections, professional organizations,
jobs, etc. Maintained by Anita Howard and Kenneth Foote of the Department
of Geography at the University of Colorado at Boulder.
- National
Spatial Data Infrastructure [NSDI] Geographic Information Resources
http://www.fgdc.gov/nsdi/nsdi.html
Government resource for
the generation, maintenance, analysis, and distribution of spatial
data. Maintained by the Federal Geographic Data Committee and the Topographic
Engineering Center.
On the 2nd floor
of the library (1L-201), Media Services houses a collection of video
resources for Geography, including numerous documentaries and feature
films in areas of historical, scientific and political interest, both
domestic and international.
Compiled by Prof. Catherine Perkins, June 2005. Last updated May 2006.
Suggestions/Comments?
|