College of Staten Island
Books Articles Research Assistance Services About us
Return Home

THE A - Z OF REFERENCE RESOURCES

A Selected Subject List of Recent Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks
arranged as they are found in the CSI Library, by the Library of Congress classification system.
Compiled by Lisa Holland, 2008.

A=Reference B=Philosophy/Psychology/Religion C=History
D=World History E=U.S. History F=American History
G=Anthropology/Recreation H=Social Sciences J=Poltical Science
K=Law L=Education M=Music
N=Fine Arts P=Literature Q=Science
R=Medicine S=Agriculture T=Technology
U=Military Science V=Naval Science Z=Library Science

GENERAL REFERENCE 
AE 5 .E333 2004 The Encyclopedia Americana, 30 vols.
AE 5 .E363 2003 The New Encyclopaedia Britannica, 32 vols.
AE 5 .W55 2002 The World Book Encyclopedia, 22 vols.
AG 5 .P45 2004 The Penguin Encyclopedia
AY 64 .N5 W7 2007 The World Almanac
Return to Top of Page 
PHILOSOPHY-PSYCHOLOGY-RELIGION 
B 41 .B53 2005 The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
B 41 .B79 2004 The Blackwell Dictionary of Western Philosophy
B 49 .P37 2000 A Dictionary of Common Philosophical Terms
B 121 .E53 2001 Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy
B 126 .E496 2003 Encyclopedia of Chinese Philosophy
B 802 .E53 2003 Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment, 4 vols.
B 850 .A43 2008 American Philosophy: An Encyclopedia
BF 31 .C65 2006 A Dictionary of Psychology
BF 31 .E52 2000 Encyclopedia of Psychology, 8 vols.
BF 31 .E52 2004 The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
BF 31 .V295 2007 APA Dictionary of Psychology
BF 698 .H3343 2006 Handbook of Personality Development
BF 713 .B565 2002 Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Social Development
BF 713 .H364 2003 Handbook of Developmental Psychology
BF 721 .H242 2006 Handbook of Child Psychology, 4 vols.
BF 723 .R46 H36 2005 Handbook of Resilience in Children
BF 1091 .R93 2004 The Ultimate Dictionary of Dream Language
BF 1548 .L49 2001 Satanism Today: An Encyclopedia of Religion, Folklore and Popular Culture
BJ 63 .E54 2005 Ethics, 3 vols.
BJ 1461 .O94 2002 The Oxford Handbook of Free Will
BL 31 .E453 2006 Encyclopedia of New Religious Movements
BL 31 .E47 2004 Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals, and Festivals
BL 65 .P7 E53 2007 The Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion, 2 vols.
65 .P7 S76 2002 Religion and Politics: A Reference Handbook
BL 80.3 .R45 2002 Religions of the World: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices, 4 vols.
BL 238 .E63 2001 Encyclopedia of Fundamentalism
BL 435 .A53 2000 Dictionary of Nature Myths: Legends of the Earth, Sea, and Sky
BL 458 .E52 2006 Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America
BL 715 .O94 2003 The Oxford Dictionary of Classical Myth and Religion
BL 728 .C67 2000 Encyclopedia of Ancient Deities
BL 860 .L56 2001 Handbook of Norse Mythology
BL 1111.4 .W55 2003 Handbook of Hindu Mythology
BL 1840 .R68 2003 Routledge Curzon Encyclopedia of Confucianism, 2 vols.
BL 2400 .S24 2000 A Dictionary of African Mythology: The Mythmaker as Storyteller
BL 2441.3 .P56 2002 Handbook of Egyptian Mythology
BL 2462.5 .E53 2001 Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions
BL 2525. M425 2005 Handbook of Denominations in the United States
BL 2525 .M45144 2003 Encyclopedia of American Religions
BP 40 .E525 2004 Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World, 2 vols.
BQ 128 .E62 2004 Encyclopedia of Buddhism, 2 vols.
BV 741 .E47 2003 Encyclopedia of Religious Freedom
Return to Top of Page 
HISTORY: AUXILIARY 
CB 9 .N49 2005 New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, 6 vols.
CB 361 .R25 2004 The Renaissance: An Encyclopedia for Students, 4 vols.
CB 425 .O34 2001 Facts About the 20th Century
CS 49 .R44 2004 Red Book: American State, Country, and Town Sources
CS 49 .S65 2006 The Source: A Guidebook of American Genealogy
CT 113 .G74 2005 Great Lives from History. The Middle Ages, 477-1453, 2 vols.
CT 113 .G745 2004 Great Lives from History. The Ancient World, Prehistory – 476 C.E., 2 vols.
CT 115 .G74 2005 Great Lives from History. The Renaissance and Early Modern Era, 1454-1600, 2 vols.
CT 117 .G74 2006 Great Lives from History. The 17th Century, 1601-1700, 2 vols.
CT 120 .I5 2007 The International Who’s Who
CT 213 .S374 2003 The Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives. The 1960s, 2 vols.
CT 3202 .P26 2005 The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Women’s Biography
Return to Top of Page 
HISTORY: WORLD 
D 25 .A2 O94 2001 The Oxford Companion to Military History
D 155 .S53 2003 Historical Dictionary of the Crusades
D 209 .E97 2004 Europe 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World, 6 vols.
D 285 .G74 2006 Great Events from History. The 18th Century, 1701-1800, 2 vols.
D 727 .G745 2000 Encyclopedia of the Interwar Years: From 1919 to 1939
D 740 .E516 2005 Encyclopedia of World War II: A Political, Social, and Military History, 5 vols.
D 840 .E63 2008 Encyclopedia of the Cold War: A Political, Social, and Military History, 5 vols.
D 860 .W64 2000 World Conflicts and Confrontations, 4 vols.
D 1051 .E92 2001 Europe Since 1945: An Encyclopedia, 2 vols.
DA 912 .E53 2004 Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture, 2 vols.
DC 220 .E53 2006 The Encyclopedia of the French Revolutionary and Napoleonic Wars: A Political, Social and Military History, 3 vols.
DE 59 .E3 2006 The Edinburgh Companion to Ancient Greece and Rome
DE 86 .C65 2003 A Companion to Hellenistic World
DF 16 .S23 2005 Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World
DG 270 .B86 2002 Encyclopedia of the Roman Empire
DJK 6 .E53 2000 Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe: From the Congress of Vienna to the Fall of Communism
DK 14 .E53 2004 Encyclopedia of Russian History, 4 vols.
DS 1 .F3 2002 The Far East and Australasia
DS 4 .E53 2002 Encyclopedia of Modern Asia, 6 vols.
DS 43 .E53 2004 Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa, 4 vols.
DS 56 .D5 2000 Dictionary of the Ancient Near East
DS 102.8 .E496 2007 Encyclopaedia Judaica, 22 vols.
DS 351 .C54 2003 Conflict in Afghanistan: A Historical Encyclopedia
DS 524 .S68 2004 Southeast Asia: A Historical Encyclopedia from Angkor Wat to East Timor, 3 vols.
DS 755.3 .P64 2002 Political Leaders of Modern China: A Biographical Dictionary
DS 778.7 .G86 2006 Historical Dictionary of the Chinese Cultural Revolution
DS 779.23 .E53 2005 Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Culture
DS 798.96 .C67 2000 Historical Dictionary of Taiwan (Republic of China)
DS 821 .F73 2002 Japan Encyclopedia
DS 822.5 .E516 2002 Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture
DS 918 .E53 2000 Encyclopedia of the Korean War: A Political, Social, and Military History, 3 vols.
DT 14 .E43 2002 Encyclopedia of African Nations and Civilizations
DT 20 .E53 2005 Encyclopedia of African History, 3 vols.
DT 58 .W55 2005 The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Ancient Egypt
DT 351 .A37 2004 Africa South of the Sahara
Return to Top of Page 
HISTORY: UNITED STATES 
E 18.75 .G48 2005 Germany and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History: A Multidisciplinary Encyclopedia
E 59 .P42 S3613 2001 The Ancient Americans: A Reference Guide to the Art, Culture, and History of Pre-Columbian North and South America
E 76.2 .P75 2000 A Native American Encyclopedia: History, Culture, and Peoples
E 98 .W8 B38 2001 Native American Women: A Biographical Dictionary
E 156 .W67 2004 Worldmark Encyclopedia of the States
E 168.1 .H614 2002 The New Dictionary of Cultural Literacy
E 169.1 .E624 2001 Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History, 3 vols.
E 169.1 .E626 2001 Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century, 3 vols.
E 169.1 .S764 2000 St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture, 5 vols.
E 169.12 .E49 2001 Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture
E 174 .D52 2003 Dictionary of American History, 10 vols.
E 176 .W56 2003 Who's Who in America, 3 vols.
E 176 .W64 1998/2000 Who Was Who in America
E 176 .W6424 2001/02 Who's Who in American Politics, 2 vols.
E 181 .E634 2006 Encyclopedia of War and American Society, 3 vols.
E 181 .U64 2005 The United States at War, 2 vols.
E 183 .E48 2001 The Encyclopedia of American Political History
E 183.7 .E52 2002 Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy, 3 vols.
E 184 .A1 E584 2008 Encyclopedia of Race and Racism, 3 vols.
E 184 .I8 I673 2000 The Italian American Experience: An Encyclopedia
E 184 .J5 A6 2006 American Jewish Year Book
E 184 .M5 M458 2000 Encyclopedia of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement
E 184 .S75 E587 2005 Encyclopedia Latina: History, Culture, and Society in the United States
E 184 .S75 O97 2005 The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States, 4 vols.
E 185 .A267 2003 The African American Almanac
E 185 .A455 2000 Encyclopedia of African-American Heritage
E 441 .S635 2007 Slavery in the United States: A Social, Political, and Historical Encyclopedia, 2 vols.
E 468 .J777 2002 Historical Dictionary of the Civil War
E 468 .R53 2004 Historical Dictionary of the Civil War and Reconstruction
E 628 .H37 2004 Women During the Civil War: An Encyclopedia
E 661 .H59 2003 Historical Dictionary of the Gilded Age
E 740.7 .W96 2003 Historical Dictionary from the Great War to the Great Depression
Return to Top of Page 
HISTORY: AMERICAS 
F 119 .E48 2001 The Empire State: A History of New York
F 119 .E53 2005 The Encyclopedia of New York State
F 1218.6 .O95 2001 The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures, 3 vols.
F 1219.3 .R38 2000 Handbook of Mesoamerican Mythology
F 1234 .D364 2002 Encyclopedia of Modern Mexico
F 1401.S71 2003 The South American Handbook
F 1410 .E56 2002 Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics
F 1788 .H38 2008 Cuba: A Global Studies Handbook
Return to Top of Page 
ANTHROPOLOGY 
G 63 .C562 2003 The Penguin Dictionary of Geography
G 63 .W67 2001 Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
G 80 .O95 2007 The Oxford Companion to World Exploration, 2 vols.
G 122 .U56a 2001 The World Factbook
G 123 .N37 2005 National Geographic Almanac of Geography
G 1021 .A7545 2004 Atlas of the World
G 2305 .D66 2005 The State of China Atlas
GB 655 .D37 2003 Water: Science and Issues, 4 vols.
GC 9 .F28 2008 The Facts on File Dictionary of Marine Science
GE 10 .E52 2000 Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues, 3 vols.
GE 10 .E534 2001 The Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Environmental Change
GE 10 .M66 2000 Encyclopedia of Environmental Science
GE 149 .E47 2002 Encyclopedia of Global Change: Environmental Change and Human Society, 2 vols.
GN 281 .E53 2000 Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory
GN 495.6 .C37 2004 Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies
GN 502 .E63 2006 Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
GN 502 .H3635 2003 Handbook of Racial and Ethnic Minority Psychology
GR 35 .M43 2000 Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs, and Customs, 2 vols.
GR 111 .M49 C37 2000 Dictionary of Chicano Folklore
GT 2850 .E53 2003 Encyclopedia of Food and Culture, 3 vols.
GT 3150 .T25 2000 Death and the Afterlife: A Cultural Encyclopedia
GV 709.5 .E83 2000 Encyclopedia of Ethnicity and Sports in the United States
GV 867.64 .R62 2000 Baseball: An Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
GV 877 .N43 2002 The Sports Encyclopedia: Baseball
Return to Top of Page 
SOCIAL SCIENCES 
H 41 .D53 2002 Dictionary of the Social Sciences
H 41 .I58 2001 International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences, 26 vols.
H 62 .E53 2005 Encyclopedia of Social Measurement
HA 175 .M55 2003 International Historical Statistics: The Americas, 1750 – 2000
HA 544 .A2 2006 New York State Statistical Yearbook
HB 871 .E538 2003 Encyclopedia of Population, 2 vols.
HC 15 .O94 2003 The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History, 5 vols.
HC 15 .W67 2002 Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies, 4 vols.
HC 59.15 .W67 2003/2004 The World Economic Factbook
HC 59.7 .E52 2006 Encyclopedia of the Developing World, 3 vols.
HC 102.5 .A2 E53 2005 The Encyclopedia of the History of American Management
HC 110 .P6 P598 2004 Poverty in the United States: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, and Policy, 2 vols.
HD 30.15 .E49 2000 Encyclopedia of Management
HD 62.7 .B865 2001 Business Plans Handbook
HD 82 .E547 2005 Encyclopedia of International Development
HD 8051 .A63 2007 Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics
HD 8066 .H57 2004 Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor, 2 vols.
HD 9502 .A2 N465 2007 Energy for the 21st century: A Comprehensive Guide to Conventional and Alternative Sources
HF 1001 .E463 2004 Encyclopedia of American Business
HF 1001 .E467 2007 Encyclopedia of Business and Finance, 2 vols.
HF 1359 .R68 2001 Routledge Encyclopedia of International Political Economy, 3 vols.
HF 3021 .D59 2007 Bulls, Bears, Boom, and Bust: A Historical Encyclopedia of American Business Concepts
HF 3023 .A2 W5 2006/07 Who's Who in Finance and Industry
HF 3824 .P53 2007 Historical Dictionary of Japanese Business
HF 5381 .E52 2003 Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance, 4 vols.
HF 5382 .U5 B53 2003 The Big Book of Jobs
HF 5382.5 .U5 N34 2008 The National Job Bank
HF 5410 .M35 2004 Market Share Reporter
HF 5548.8 .E498 2007 Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology, 2 vols.
HF 5681 .R25 T68 2006 Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
HF 5691 .B73 2007 Business Ratios and Formulas: A Comprehensive Guide
HF 5803 .A38 2003 The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising, 3 vols.
HF 5803 .C59 2005 Concise Encyclopedia of Advertising
HF 5837 .E53 2000 Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns
HG 151 .B2697 2005 Financial Lexicon: A Compendium of Financial Definitions, Acronyms, and Colloquialisms
HG 4009 .H66 2001 Hoover’s Handbook of World Business
HG 4057 .A28617 2002 Hoover’s Handbook of American Business, 2 vols.
HM 425 .E46 2006 Encyclopedia of Social Theory
HM 425 .E5 2000 Encyclopedia of Sociology, 5 vols.
HM 1033 .H36 2003 Handbook of Social Psychology
HM 1033 .S24 2003 The Sage Handbook of Social Psychology
HN 57 .E594 2004 Encyclopedia of American Social Movements, 4 vols.
HN 59.2 .B43 2001 Beacham's Encyclopedia of Social Change: America in the Twentieth Century, 4 vols.
HQ 9 .E52 2003 International Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family, 4 vols.
HQ 57.5 .A3 C36 2002 Sex, Youth, and Sex Education: A Reference Handbook
HQ 75.5 .L4395 2000 Lesbian Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia
HQ 75.13 .G37 2000 Gay Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia
HQ 76.3 .U5 E53 2004 Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America, 3 vols.
HQ 536 .H365 2001 The Family in America: An Encyclopedia, 2 vols.
HQ 755.8 .P3783 2000 Parenthood in America: An Encyclopedia, 2 vols.
HQ 767.84 .E53 2004 Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society, 3 vols.
HQ 774 .I528 2001 Infancy in America: An Encyclopedia, 2 vols.
HQ 775 .B635 2001 Boyhood in America: An Encyclopedia, 2 vols.
HQ 777 .G5745 2001 Girlhood in America: An Encyclopedia, 2 vols.
HQ 796 .A33247 2001 Adolescence in America: An Encyclopedia, 2 vols.
HQ 796 .C8154 2006 Contemporary Youth Culture: An International Encyclopedia, 2 vols.
HQ 796 .I58 2007 International Encyclopedia of Adolescence, 2 vols.
HQ 1061 .E534 2002 Encyclopedia of Aging, 4 vols.
HQ 1073 .E543 2001 Encyclopedia of Death and Dying
HQ 1073 .M33 2003 Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying, 2 vols.
HQ 1115 .E43 2001 Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender, 2 vols.
HQ 1115 .R69 2000 Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women’s Issues and Knowledge, 4 vols.
HQ 1206 .H2383 2006 Handbook of Girls’ and Women’s Psychological Health
HQ 1206 .H2385 2001 Handbook of the Psychology of Women and Gender
HQ 1236 .R29 2001 Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers, 2 vols.
HQ 1787 .S44 2005 Historical Dictionary of Women in Sub-Saharan Africa
HT 1521 .D537 2003 Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity and Culture
HV 12 .E497 2005 Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America
HV 22 .C59 2003 Colonialism: An International, Social, Cultural, and Political Encyclopedia, 3 vols.
HV 2380 .O88 2003 The Oxford Handbook of Deaf Studies, Language and Education
HV 2475 .G35 2005 The Gallaudet Dictionary of American Sign Language
HV 6017 .E52 2002 Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice, 4 vols.
HV 7436 .G8783 2002 Guns in American Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture, and the Law
HV 8073 .B425 2004 Encyclopedia of Forensic Science
Return to Top of Page 
POLITICAL SCIENCE 
JA 51 .S7 2007 The Statesman’s Year-Book
JA 61 .E54 2005 Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right
JF 37 .P6 2007 Political Handbook of the World 2007
JK 9 .P55 2002 The American Political Dictionary
JK 421 .A3 2006/2007 United States Government Manual
JK 468 .P76 L53 2000 The Librarian’s Guide to Public Records: The Complete State, County, & Courthouse Locator
JK 516 .C57 2002 Guide to the Presidency, 2 vols.
JK 1011 .U5 2005/2006 Official Congressional Directory
JK 1012 .A44 2002 The Almanac of American Politics
JK 1021 .C565 2000 Guide to Congress, 2 vols.
JK 1083 .A77 2004 The Almanac of the Unelected
JK 1118 .N47 2000 Encyclopedia of Interest Groups and Lobbyists in the United States, 2 vols.
JK 1976 .G85 2005 Guide to U.S. Elections, 2 vols.
JK 2265 .G84 2005 Guide to Political Campaigns in America
JK 3430 .N5 2007/2008 The New York Red Book
JK 3430 .N52 2007/2008 The New York State Directory
JN 1 .E85 2003 The Europa World Year Book, 2 vols.
JZ 1160 .E53 2005 Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics
Return to Top of Page 
LAW 
K 48 .L44 2002 Legal Systems of the World: A Political, Social, and Cultural Encyclopedia, 4 vols.
KF 209 .L452 J39 2001 Dictionary of Selected Legal Terms
KF 209 .L452 B53 2005 Becoming a Citizen
KF 387 .G27 2003 Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law, 2 vols.
KF 3941 .S68 2001 The Right to Bear Arms: Rights and Liberties Under the Law
KF 4150 .H56 2001 Student Rights: A Reference Handbook
KF 4548 .E53 2000 Encyclopedia of the American Constitution, 6 vols.
KF 4548 .M33 2002 The U.S. Constitution A to Z
KF 4754.5 .W35 2002 Gay Rights on Trial: A Reference Handbook
KF 4783 .A68 R45 2000 Religion and American Law: An Encyclopedia
KF 4783 .U76 2002 Religious Freedom: Rights and Liberties Under the Law
KF 4819 .I484 2007 Immigration Procedures Handbook
KF 4819 .I485 2007 Labor Certification Handbook
KF 8742 .A35 E53 2001 Encyclopedia of the U.S. Supreme Court, 3 vols.
KZ 4698 .O84 2003 Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements, 4 vols.
Return to Top of Page 
EDUCATION 
L 900 .I58 2001 International Handbook of Universities
L 901 .P447 2008 Peterson's Annual Guides/Undergraduate Study. Guide to Four-Year Colleges
L 901 .P448 2008 Peterson’s Annual Guides/Undergraduate Study. Guide to Two-Year Colleges
L 901 .P46 2007 Peterson's Graduate and Professional Programs
LB 15 .E47 2003 The Encyclopedia of Education, 8 vols.
LB 15 .G68 2003 The Greenwood Dictionary of Education
LB 15 .W87 2002 World Education Encyclopedia: A Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide, 3 vols.
LB 17 .U54 2001 Encyclopedia of American Education, 3 vols.
LB 1027.55 .C655 2005 Comprehensive Handbook of Multicultural School Psychology
LB 1027.55 .E523 2005 Encyclopedia of School Psychology
LB 1028 .H315 2001 Handbook of Research on Teaching
LB 1028 .S14 2006 The Sage Handbook for Research in Education: Engaging Ideas and Enriching Inquiry
LB 1028.27 .U6 F74 2002 The Educator’s Desk Reference (EDR): A Sourcebook of Educational Information and Research
LB 1051 .H2354 2006 Handbook of Educational Psychology
LB 1051 .P635 2007 The Praeger Handbook of Education and Psychology, 4 vols.
LB 1119 .H25 2006 Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children
LB 1139.23 .E272 2007 Early Childhood Education: An International Encyclopedia, 4 vols.
LB 1576 .H234 2003 Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts
LB 2165 .P87 2001 Teacher Training: A Reference Handbook
LB 2338 .S35 2007 Scholarships, Fellowships, and Loans
LB 2805 .E527 2006 Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration, 2 vols.
LB 2805 .W517 2002 Educational Leadership: A Reference Handbook
LB 2806.15 .I595 2003 International Handbook of Curriculum Research
LB 2806.36 .W45 2000 Charter Schools: A Reference Handbook
LB 2822.82 .S82 2001 Standards and Schooling in the United States: An Encyclopedia
LB 3951 .S66 2001 The Assessment Debate: A Reference Handbook
LC 189.95 .E38 2002 Education and Sociology: A Handbook
LC 191 .H254 2000 Handbook of the Sociology of Education
LC 1099.3 .H35 2004 Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education
LC 1569 .W66 2002 Women in Higher Education: An Encyclopedia
LC 2669 .P73 2007 The Praeger Handbook of Latino Education in the U.S.
LC 2741 .J33 2001 African American Education: A Reference Handbook
LC 3731 .F45 2002 Bilingual Education: A Reference Handbook
LC 4007 .E53 2007 Encyclopedia of Special Education, 3 vols.
LC 4007 .E53 2002 Concise Encyclopedia of Special Education
LC 4704.5 .T86 2002 The Encyclopedia of Learning Disabilities
Return to Top of Page 
MUSIC 
ML 102 .J3 N48 2002 The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
ML 102 .O6 B26 2000 Baker's Dictionary of Opera
ML 102.O6 I6 1993 International Dictionary of Opera, 2 vols.
ML 102 .P66 G84 2006 Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 10 vols.
ML 120 .A75 M2 2004 Armenian Music: A Comprehensive Bibliography and Discography
ML 128 .M7 M3 2000 Film Composers in America: A Filmography, 1911 – 1970
ML 128 .M78 S86 2000 Show Tunes: The Songs, Shows, and Careers of Broadway’s Major Composers
ML 160 .S48 2000 The Great Composers and Their Works, 2 vols.
ML 3518 .Y36 2000 Swing: The Best Musicians and Recordings
ML 3534 .G754 2006 The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Rock History, 6 vols.
ML 3790 .S5 2000 This Business of Music: the Definitive Guide to the Music Industry
ML 3795 .B33 2001 Music Business Handbook and Career Guide
ML 3785 .F497 2004 Career Opportunities in the Music Industry
Return to Top of Page 
FINE ARTS 
N 33 .C59 2003 The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists
N 33 .O923 2001 The Oxford Companion to Western Art
N 5300 .A3 2002 Art Across Time
N 5300 .A68 2003 Art of the First Cities: The Third Millennium B.C. from the Mediterranean to the Indus
N 5300 .A693 2002 Art: The World of Art, From Aboriginal to American Pop, American Masters to Post-Modernism
N 5300 .O96 2000 The Oxford History of Western Art
N 6447 .H86 2000 Modern Art: Painting, Sculpture, Architecture
N 6490 .D415 2002 Art in the Modern Era: A Guide to Styles, Schools, and Movements 1860 to the Present
N 6502 .E53 2000 Encyclopedia of Latin American & Caribbean Art
N 6538 .N5 L38 2003 African American Art and Artists
N 6538 .N5 O86 2003 African Americans in the Visual Arts
Return to Top of Page 
LANGUAGES & LITERATURE 
P 29 .I58 2003 International Encyclopedia of Linguistics, 4 vols.
P 129 .H33 2004 The Handbook of Applied Linguistics
PE 1112 .H287 2001 REA's Handbook of English Grammar, Style, and Writing
PE 1408 .D59 2003 The Scribner Handbook for Writers
PE 1408 .W37 2001 Practical English Handbook
PE 1464 .O94 2004 The Oxford Dictionary of Idioms
PE 1628 .N429 2001 The New Oxford American Dictionary
PE 1670 .M26 2002 The Facts on File Dictionary of Foreign Words and Phrases
PE 2846 .S64 2000 NTC's Dictionary of American Slang and Colloquial Expressions
PJ 6640 .A934 2004 Arabic Practical Dictionary
PL 8010 .E63 2003 Encyclopedia of African Literature
PN 41 .B4 2002 HarperCollins Reader’s Encyclopedia of American Literature
PN 41 .M48 2007 A New Handbook of Literary Terms
PN 43 .O94 2005 Oxford Dictionary of Phrase and Fable
PN 56 .H55 E53 2002 Encyclopedia of Holocaust Literature
PN 241 .E56 2000 Encyclopedia of Literary Translation into English, 2 vols.
PN 597 .T94 2000 Twentieth-Century Literary Movements Dictionary
PN 669 .E52 2000 Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature
PN 1008.5 .I57 2004 International Companion Encyclopedia of Children’s Literature, 2 vols.
PN 1590 .G39 Q44 2005 The Queer Encyclopedia of Film & Television
PN 1861 .C65 2007 The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama
PN 1991.3.U6 L29 2000
The Encyclopedia of American Radio: An A-Z Guide to Radio from Jack Benny to Howard Stern
PN 1991.8 .S4 C695 2005 Historical Dictionary of American Radio Soap Operas
PN 1993.45 .B49 2001 The Film Studies Dictionary
PN 1993.45 .C75 2001 Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory
PN 1993.45 .E53 2005 Encyclopedia of Early Cinema
PN 1993.45 .G65 2007 Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film, 4 vols.
PN 1993.45 .K34 2005 The Film Encyclopedia
PN 1993.5 A1 S555 2002 A World History of Film
PN 1993.5.A1 W394 2000 The Animated Film Encyclopedia: A Complete Guide to American Shorts, Features and Sequences 1900-1979
PN 1995.9 .A72 S85 2002 Stars and Stripes on Screen: A Comprehensive Guide to Portrayals of American Military on Film
PN 1995.9 .M56 M85 2003 The Encyclopedia of Ethnic Groups in Hollywood
PN 1995.9 .N4 B433 2007 Historical Dictionary of African American Cinema
PN 1995.9 .S26 H38 2001 The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction Movies
PN 1995.9 .W4 F27 2003 The Encyclopedia of Westerns
PN 1995.9 .W4 K33 2002 A Biographical Dictionary of Silent Film Western Actors and Actresses
PN 1997.85 .T54 2005 The Encyclopedia of Novels into Film
PN 1998.2 .T49 2002 The New Biographical Dictionary of Film
PN 1998.2 .T53 2002 The Encyclopedia of Filmmakers, 2 vols.
PN 2277 .N5 B46 2002 At This Theatre: 100 Years of Broadway Shows, Stories, and Stars
PN 6081 .A623 2006 The Oxford Dictionary of American Quotations
PQ 4006 .E536 2007 Encyclopedia of Italian Literary Studies, 2 vols.
PQ 4333 .D36 2000 The Dante Encyclopedia
PR 883 .C64 2001 Contemporary Novelists
PR 2892 .M398 2000 Dictionary of Shakespeare
PR 3081.C65 1999 Shakespeare's Names: A New Pronouncing Dictionary
PS 21 .E537 2004 The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature, 4 vols.
PS 153 .A84 A825 2000 Asian American Novelists: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook
PS 153 .A84 O37 2007 Encyclopedia of Asian-American Literature
PS 153 .I52 E53 2007 Encyclopedia of American Indian Literature
PS 153 .N5 A344 2000 African-American Writers: A Dictionary
PS 153 .N5 H245 2003 The Harlem Renaissance: A Gale Critical Companion, 3 vols.
PS 228 .B6 E53 2007 Encyclopedia of Beat Literature
PS 261 .S595 2006 Southern Writers: A New Biographical Dictionary
PS 323.5 .E53 2001 Encyclopedia of American Poetry. The Twentieth Century
PS 371 .N68 2000 Notable American Novelists, 3 vols.
PS 438 .N55 2000 Encyclopedia of 20th-Century American Humor
PS 1018 .A3 2001 The Louisa May Alcott Encyclopedia
PS 3511 .A86 Z459 2002 William Faulkner A to Z: The Essential Reference to His Life and Work
PS 3511 .R94 Z459 2001 The Robert Frost Encyclopedia
PS 3515 .U274 Z459 2002 A Langston Hughes Encyclopedia
PS 3563 .O8749 Z913 2003 The Toni Morrison Encyclopedia
Return to Top of Page 
SCIENCE 
Q 141 .A51 2008 American Men & Women of Science: A Biographical Directory of Today's Leaders in Physical, Biological, and Related Sciences, 8 vols.
Q 141 .B528 2000 The Biographical Dictionary of Scientists, 2 vols.
Q 141 .B5285 2000 The Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science: Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the Mid-20th Century
Q 141 .O27 2002 International Encyclopedia of Women Scientists
Q 157 .E57 2000 Encyclopedia of Pseudoscience
Q 173 .S428 2000 Scientifically Speaking: A Dictionary of Quotations
Q 175.35 .E53 2005 Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics
QA 11 .E665 2001 Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education
QA 41 .F54 2003 Mathematical Constants
QA 41.7 .T83 2004 Guide to Information Sources in Mathematics and Statistics
QA 76.15 .E48 2000 Encyclopedia of Computer Science
QA 76.15 .F345 2006 The Facts on File Dictionary of Computer Science
QB 14 .E534 2001 Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics, 4 vols.
QB 14 .L36 2006 A Companion to Astronomy and Astrophysics: Chronology and Glossary with Data Tables
QB 500.262 .Z56 2000 The Chronological Encyclopedia of Discoveries in Space
QB 631 .G65 2002 Earth Almanac: An Annual Geophysical Review of the State of the Planet
QC 61 .H37 2002 Handbook of Physics
QC 61 .P65 2007 The Physics Handbook: Fundamentals and Key Equations
QC 61 .W67 2000 The Cambridge Handbook of Physics Formulas
QC 772 .D57 2001 Dictionary of Material Science and High Energy Physics
QC 854 .A45 2002 Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather, 2 vols.
QD 40 .H45 2000 Laws and Models: Science, Engineering, and Technology
QD 53 .K536 2007 Handbook of Analytical Instruments
QD 65 .L36 2005 Lange’s Handbook of Chemistry
QD 466 .E56 2004 Encyclopedia of the Elements: Technical Data, History, Processing, Applications
QE 28.3 .R45 2001 Origins: The Evolution of Continents, Oceans and Life
QH 302.5 .E525 2002 Encyclopedia of Life Sciences, 20 vols.
QH 302.5 .F38 2005 The Facts on File Dictionary of Biology
QH 360.3 .E54 2002 Encyclopedia of Evolution, 2 vols.
QH 427 .E532 2002 Encyclopedia of Genetics, 4 vols.
QH 427 .K55 2002 A Dictionary of Genetics
QH 541.15 .B56 L54 2002 Life on Earth: An Encyclopedia of Biodiversity, Ecology, and Evolution
QH 541.5 .R27 G39 2001 Rainforests of the World: A Reference Handbook
QH 575 .F33 2003 The Facts on File Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology
QK 9 .F33 2003 The Facts on File Dictionary of Botany
QK 45.2 .H36 2007 Handbook of Plant Science, 2 vols.
QK 110 .B46 2000 The Encyclopedia of North American Trees
QK 725 .C34 2006 Dictionary of Plant Tissue Culture
QL 750.3 .B37 2001 Animal Behavior Desk Reference: A Dictionary of Animal Behavior, Ecology, and Evolution
QP 34.5 .M24 2005 The Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution
QP 360 .D52 2001 Dictionary of Biological Psychology
QP 512 .O94 2000 Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
QP 771 .E53 1996 Encyclopedia of Vitamins, Minerals, and Supplements
QR 100 .S74 2003 The Dictionary of Environmental Microbiology
Return to Top of Page 
MEDICINE 
R 121 .M892 2006 Mosby's Pocket Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions
R 121 .O884 2001 Oxford Illustrated Companion to Medicine
R 121 .S8 2008 Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing
R 726.5 .E53 2004 Encyclopedia of Health & Behavior, 2 vols.
R 733 .H376 2004 Encyclopedia of Folk Medicine: Old World and New World Traditions
RA 418 .E354 2004 Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World’s Cultures, 2 vols.
RA 418 .H27 2000 Handbook of Gender, Culture, and Health
RA 418 .H36 2000 The Handbook of Social Studies in Health and Medicine
RA 423 .E53 2002 Encyclopedia of Public Health, 4 vols.
RA 643 .W33 2003 Statistical Handbook on Infectious Diseases
RA 644 .A25 H365 2000 Handbook of HIV Prevention
RA 777.7 .R36 2006 Complete Guide to Family Health, Nutrition, & Fitness
RA 778 .A494 2000 The New A to Z of Women’s Health: A Concise Encyclopedia
RA 778 .G39 2002 Encyclopedia of Women’s Health Issues
RA 784 .R646 2003 The Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Good Health
RA 1148 .H362 2004 Handbook of Forensic Psychology: Resource for Mental Health and Legal Professionals
RA 1250 .N46 2007 Handbook of Poisonous and Injurious Plants
RB 38.2 .S37 2006 Davis’s Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests: With Nursing Implications
RC 55 .P375 2002 Acute Care Handbook for Physical Therapists
RC 112 .T87 2003 The Encyclopedia of Infectious Diseases
RC 262 .A39 2000 The Cancer Dictionary
RC 454 .C636 2001 Comprehensive Handbook of Psychopathology
RC 456 .C66 2006 Comprehensive Handbook of Personality and Psychopathology, 3 vols.
RC 514 .N63 2000 The Encyclopedia of Schizophrenia and Other Psychotic Disorders
RC 537 .H3376 2002 Handbook of Depression
RC 552 .E18 C37 2000 The Encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders
RC 952.55 .C74 2007 Handbook of Geriatric Care Management
RC 954 .E53 2008 Encyclopedia of Elder Care: The Comprehensive Resource on Geriatric and Social Care
RD 37 .P74 2006 Schwartz’s Manual of Surgery
RD 723 .S74 2003 Stedman’s Orthopaedic & Rehab Words
RF 290 .T93 2000 The Encyclopedia of Deafness and Hearing Disorders
RG 951 .O43 2008 Clinical Handbook for Olds’ Maternal-Newborn Nursing & Women’s Health Across the Lifespan
RJ 45 .T9465 2004 The Encyclopedia of Children’s Health and Wellness, 2 vols.
RJ 48 .H35 2005 The Harriet Lane Handbook: A Manual for Pediatric House Officers
RJ 245 .M675 2008 Mosby's Pediatric Nursing Reference
RJ 502.5 .H362 2000 Handbook of Infant Mental Health, 4 vols.
RJ 506 .D47 H358 2007 Handbook of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities
RM 170 .G33 2002 Intravenous Medications: A Handbook for Nurses and Allied Health Professionals
RM 316 .D76 2007 Drug Abuse Handbook
RM 701 .H36 2004 Handbook of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
RT 21 .G353 2002 The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health, 5 vols.
RT 41 .F8813 2008 Clinical Handbook for Kozier & Erb’s Fundamentals of Nursing: Concepts, Process, and Practice
RT 42 .H65 2000 Holistic Nursing: A Handbook for Practice
RT 48 .N863 2008 Nurses’ Handbook of Health Assessment
RT 48.6 .C385 2002 Handbook of Nursing Diagnosis
RT 50.5 .H43 2001 Handbook of Informatics for Nurses and Health Care Professionals
RT 81.5 .E53 2006 Encyclopedia of Nursing Research
RT 81.5 .P69 2006 Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research
RT 86.7 .C33 2003 The Advanced Practice Nurse’s Legal Handbook
RT 98 .S73 2000 Handbook of Community-Based and Home Health Nursing: Tools for Assessment, Intervention, and Education
Return to Top of Page 
AGRICULTURE 
S 592 .E5 2008 Encyclopedia of Soil Science
SF 756.28 .S96 2001 Opportunities in Veterinary Medicine Careers
Return to Top of Page 
TECHNOLOGY 
T 9 .C96 2000 The Cutting Edge: An Encyclopedia of Advanced Technologies
T 55 .L468 2000 Lewis’ Dictionary of Occupational and Environmental Safety and Health
TA 9 .W43 2000 A Dictionary of Environmental & Civil Engineering
TA 151 .S8 2004 Standard Handbook for Civil Engineers
TA 402 .K43 2004 Dictionary of Engineering Materials
TD 9 .W95 2001 The Facts on File Dictionary of Environmental Science
TD 195 .T7 H35 2003 Handbook of Transport and the Environment
TJ 151 .C73 2005 The CRC Handbook of Mechanical Engineering
TJ 151 .M3953 2001 Mechanical Engineer’s Handbook
TK 9 .K39 2004 Wiley Electrical and Electronics Engineering Dictionary
TK 3001 .S47 2004 Electric Power Distribution Handbook
TK 9146 .H45 2000 Nuclear Power: A Reference Handbook
TP 368.2 .E62 2000 Encyclopedia of Food Science and Technology, 4 vols.
TP 1087 .C477 2001 Condensed Encyclopedia of Polymer Engineering Terms
TR 642 .E5 2006 Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography, 3 vols.
TR 655 .A78 2003 Art and Photography
TT 507 .S4413 2000 Fashion: The Century of the Designer 1900-1999
TX 349 .E56 2002 Encyclopedia of Foods: A Guide to Healthy Nutrition
Return to Top of Page 
MILITARY SCIENCE 
Return to Top of Page 
NAVAL SCIENCE 
VK 15 .O84 2007 The Oxford Encyclopedia of Maritime History, 4 vols.
Return to Top of Page 
LIBRARY SCIENCE 
Z 711 .R4444 2006 The Reference Librarian’s Policies, Forms, Guidelines, and Procedures Handbook: With CD-ROM
Z 711.45 .L57 2003 The Virtual Reference Librarian’s Handbook
Z 711.9 .H35 2000 Handbook of Black Librarianship
Z 1006 .K39 2000 Concise Dictionary of Library and Information Science
Z 7835 .M6 S585 2006 The Literature of Islam: A Guide to the Primary Sources in English Translation
Return to Top of Page 



Return to CSI Library Home Page

space
Archives & Special Collections | Media Services | Services for Faculty | Student Info
CSI Home | CSI Links | CUNY Links | Beyond CSI | Site Map | Text Version

CSI
© College of Staten Island Library
2800 Victory Boulevard, Staten Island, NY 10314
718-982-4010
CSI Library Home CSI Home CUNY Home