College of Staten Island Library
CSI Library Home | CSI E-Resources | CSI Campus Home | CUNY E-Resources

The A to Z of Reference Resources

A Selected Subject List of Recent Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks, arranged as they are found in the CSI Library, by the Library of Congress classification system. Compiled by Linda Roccos, 1999; Updated by Lisa Holland, 2003.

[A=Reference] [B=Philosophy/Psychology/Religion] [C=History] [D=World History]
[E=U.S. History] [F=American History] [G=Anthropology/Recreation] [H=Social Sciences]
[J=Poltical Science] [K=Law] [L=Education] [M=Music] [N=Fine Arts] [P=Literature] [Q=Science]
[R=Medicine] [S=Agriculture] [T=Technology] [U=Military Science] [V=Naval Science] [Z=Library Science] 


GENERAL REFERENCE 
AE 5.C683 1995  Collier's Encyclopedia: With Bibliography and Index
AE 5.E333 1995  The Encyclopedia Americana 
AE 5.E363 1991  The New Encyclopaedia Britannica 
AE 5.W55 2002 The World Book Encyclopedia 
AY 64.I55 1998  Information Please Almanac 
AY 64.N5 W7 2003  The World Almanac 
Return to Top of Page 
PHILOSOPHY-PSYCHOLOGY-RELIGION 
B 41.C35 1999  The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy 
B 41.E5 1996  The Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 8 vols., supp. 
B 49.P37 2000 A Dictionary of Common Philosophical Terms
B 51.O94 1995  The Oxford Companion to Philosophy 
B 51.R68 1998 Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 10 vols.
B 104.B5 1996  Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Philosophers 
B 105.W3 E53 1996  An Encyclopedia of War and Ethics 
B 121.C66 1997  Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy 
B 131.G67 1996  A Concise Dictionary of Indian Philosophy: Sanskrit Terms 
B 563.H47 1996  Encyclopedia of Values and Ethics 
B 829.5.E53 1997  Encyclopedia of Phenomenology 
B 945.A2863 A3 1995  Adler's Philosophical Dictionary 
BD 111.C626 1995  A Companion to Metaphysics 
BD 418.3.C62 1995  A Companion to the Philosophy of Mind 
BF 31.B25 1999 Baker Encyclopedia of Psychology and Counseling
BF 31.C65 2001 A Dictionary of Psychology
BF 31.E5 1994  Encyclopedia of Human Behavior, 4 vols. 
BF 31.E52 2000  Encyclopedia of Psychology, 8 vols. 
BF 31.G35 1996  The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology 
BF 31.S79 1993  Survey of Social Science. Psychology Series, 6 vols.
BF 311.M556 1999 The MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences
BF 431.E59 1994  Encyclopedia of Human Intelligence, 2 vols. 
BF 531.E55 1999 Encyclopedia of Human Emotions, 2 vols.
BF 1078.E63 1993  Encyclopedia of Sleep and Dreaming 
BF 1407.R36 1995  An Encyclopedia of Claims, Frauds, and Hoaxes 
BF 1548.L49 2001 Satanism Today: An Encyclopedia of Religion, Folklore and Popular Culture
BF 1571.L49 1999 Witchcraft Today: An Encyclopedia of Wiccan and Neopagan Traditions
BF 1655.L485 1994  The Astrology Encyclopedia 
BF 1777.Z65 1995  Encyclopedia of Signs, Omens, and Superstition 
BH 39.C62 1995  The Columbia Dictionary of Modern Literary and Cultural Criticism 
BJ 63.D45 1996  Dictionary of Ethics, Theology and Society 
BJ 63.E44 1998 Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics, 4 vols.
BJ 63.E46 1999  Encyclopedia of Ethics
BJ 63.E54 1994  Ethics, 3 vols. 
BL 31.M47 1999 Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of World Religions
BL 65.P7 E53 1998 The Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion, 4 vols.
BL 65.P7 S76 2002 Religion and Politics: A Reference Handbook
BL 80.3.R45 2002 Religions of the World: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices, 4 vols.
BL 238.E63 2001 Encyclopedia of Fundamentalism
BL 435.A53 2000 Dictionary of Nature Myths: Legends of the Earth, Sea, and Sky
BL 458.E53 1998 Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion, 2 vols.
BL 2400.S24 2000 A Dictionary of African Mythology: The Mythmaker as Storyteller
BL 2525.B45 1998 Encyclopedia of American Women and Religion
BL 2525.M449 1993  Encyclopedia of American Religions 
BL 2530.U6 M44 1993  Directory of Religious Organizations in the United States 
BM 50.E63 1999 The Encyclopedia of Judaism, 3 vols.
BM 50.O94 1997  The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion 
BM 750.S395 1996  Orthodox Judaism in America: A Biographical Dictionary 
BP 10.I73 1992  Islam and Islamic Groups: A Worldwide Reference Guide 
BP 60.M36 1999 Historical Dictionary of Islamic Fundamentalist Movements in the Arab world, Iran and Turkey
BQ 130.S65 1995  A Dictionary of Chinese Buddhist Terms: With Sanskrit 
BR 85.C25 1997  Cassell Dictionary of Christianity 
BR 95.O8 1997  The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church 
BR 130.5.R68 1995  Jesus and His World: An Archaeological and Cultural Dictionary 
BR 302.8.O93 1996  The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation 
BR 526.U88 2001 The Religious Right: A Reference Handbook
BS 440.H235 1996  The Harper Collins Bible Dictionary 
BS 475.2.C26 1997  The Cambridge Companion to the Bible 
BS 680.G57 D53 1999 Dictionary of Deities and Demons in the Bible DDD
BT 28.N48 1996  A New Handbook of Christian Theologians 
BV 150.A66 1994  Dictionary of Christian Art 
Return to Top of Page 
HISTORY: AUXILIARY 
CB 9.D53 1997  The Dictionary of Global Culture 
CB 158.E53 1996  Encyclopedia of the Future 
CC 70.C59 1999 Companion Encyclopedia of Archaeology, 2 vols.
CC 77.U5 E53 1998  Encyclopedia of Underwater and Maritime Archaeology 
CC 110.E54 1999 Encyclopedia of Archaeology. The Great Archaeologists, 2 vols.
CT 103.C26 1994  The Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia 
CT 103.M47 1995  Merriam-Webster's Biographical Dictionary 
CT 120.I5 2003  The International Who's Who 
CT 213.A68 1999 American National Biography, 24 vols.
Return to Top of Page 
HISTORY: WORLD 
D 14.E53 1999 Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing, 2 vols.
D 25.A2.K63 1999 Dictionary of Wars
D 286.D53 1994  A Dictionary of Eighteenth-Century World History 
D 356.D53 1994  A Dictionary of Nineteenth-Century World History 
D 412.L45 1999 Encyclopedia of Heads of States and Governments, 1900 Through 1945
D 727.G745 2000 Encyclopedia of the Interwar Years: From 1919 to 1939
D 740.O94 1995  The Oxford Companion to World War II 
D 740.W67 1999 World War II in Europe: An Encyclopedia, 2 vols.
D 1051.E92 2001 Europe Since 1945: An Encyclopedia, 2 vols.
DA 1.E52 1999 The Encyclopedia of Britain
DA 357.W34 1999 Historical Dictionary of the Elizabethan World: Britain, Ireland, Europe, and America
DA 375.H57 1996  Historical Dictionary of Stuart England, 1603-1689 
DA 550.E53 1996  The Encyclopedia of the Victorian World
DA 589.4.E53 1999 Encyclopedia of Contemporary British Culture
DA 592.C628 1996  The Longman Companion to Britain Since 1945 
DE 5.A57 1998 Ancient Greece and Rome: An Encyclopedia for Students, 4 vols.
DG 75.A35 1998  Handbook to Life in Ancient Rome 
DJK 6.E53 2000 Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe: From the Congress of Vienna to the Fall of Communism
DK 14.C35 1994  The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Russia and Former Soviet Union 
DP 233.5.E63 1999 Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture
DS 1.F3 2002  The Far East and Australasia 
DS 35.53.O95 1995  The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, 4 vols. 
DS 43.E53 1996  Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East, 4 vols. 
DS 43.H57 1996  Dictionary of the Middle East 
DS 57.C55 1995  Civilizations of the Ancient Near East, 4 vols.
DS 62.8.P64 1999 Political Encyclopedia of the Middle East
DS 518.1.L415 1995  Dictionary of the Modern Politics of South-East Asia 
DS 557.7.E53 1996  Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War 
DS 705.P47 1999 Encyclopedia of China: The Essential Reference to China, Its History and Culture
DS 798.92.R46 1996  Republic of China Yearbook 1996 
DS 798.96.C67 2000 Historical Dictionary of Taiwan (Republic of China)
DS 805.D355 1995  Japan Encyclopedia 
DS 805.M63 1998 Modern Japan: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Nationalism
DS 916.H62 1999 Conflict in Korea: An Encyclopedia
DS 918.E53 2000 Encyclopedia of the Korean War: A Political, Social, and Military History, 3 vols.
DT 21.5.G89 1999 Historical Dictionary of Civil Wars in Africa
DT 58.E53 1999 Encyclopedia of the Archaeology of Ancient Egypt
DT 97.G65 1999 Biographical Dictionary of Modern Egypt
DT 351.A37 2002  Africa South of the Sahara 
Return to Top of Page 
HISTORY: UNITED STATES 
E 20.S56 1994  The Cowboy Encyclopedia 
E 76.2.A45 1995  American Indians, 3 vols.
E 76.2.J64 1994  The Native Tribes of North America: A Concise Encyclopedia 
E 76.2.N36 1994  Native America in the Twentieth Century: An Encyclopedia 
E 76.2.P75 2000 A Native American Encyclopedia: History, Culture, and Peoples
E 76.2.W35 1999 Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
E 89.J69 1997  The Encyclopedia of Native American Biography 
E 89.N67 1995  Notable Native Americans 
E 98.C8 P37 1996  Encyclopedia of American Indian Costume 
E 98.M4 L96 1996  Encyclopedia of Native American Healing 
E 98.W8 B38 2001 Native American Women: A Biographical Dictionary
E 154.C36 1995  The Cambridge Gazetteer of the United States and Canada 
E 156.W67 1995  Worldmark Encyclopedia of the States 
E 162.P86 1995  Revolutionary America, 1763-1800 
E 169.1.E624 2001 Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History, 3 vols.
E 169.1.E626 2001 Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century, 3 vols.
E 169.1.S764 2000 St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture, 5 vols.
E 174.D52 1976 Supp  Dictionary of American History. 1996 Supplement 
E 174.P87 1995  A Dictionary of American History 
E 176.D563 Index  Dictionary of American Biography. Comprehensive Index 1996 
E 176.W56 2003  Who's Who in America, 3 vols. 
E 176.W64 1998/2000  Who Was Who in America 
E 176.W6424 2001/02  Who's Who in American Politics, 2 vols. 
E 176.49.V52 1998 The Vice Presidents: A Biographical Dictionary
E 183.E48 2001 The Encyclopedia of American Political History
E 183.7.E52 2002 Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy, 3 vols.
E 183.7.E53 1997  Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations, 4 vols. 
E 184.A1 G14 1995  Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, 2 vols. 
E 184.I8 I673 2000 The Italian American Experience: An Encyclopedia
E 184.J5 A6 2002  American Jewish Year Book  
E 184.M5 M458 2000 Encyclopedia of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement
E 184.S75 M435 1997  Notable Latino Americans: A Biographical Dictionary 
E 185.E65 1996  Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History, 5 vols. 
E 185.R44 1997  Reference Library of Black America, 5 vols. 
E 185.61.E544 1998 The Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America, 3 vols.
E 185.61.L84 1997  Historical Dictionary of the Civil Rights Movement 
E 185.86.B542 1994  Black Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia, 2 vols. 
E 185.96.F21 1997  Facts on File Encyclopedia of Black Women in America, 11 vols. 
E 404.C93 1999 Encyclopedia of the Mexican-American War
E 441.D53 1997  Dictionary of Afro-American Slavery 
E 467.L43 1998 Leaders of the American Civil War: A Biographical and Historiographical Dictionary
E 740.7.H64 1997  The Penguin Dictionary of Contemporary American History 
Return to Top of Page   
HISTORY: AMERICAS 
F 118.E57 1998  Encyclopedia of New York, 2 vols. 
F 120.D54 1997 Dictionary of New York Historic Places, 3 vols.
F 128.3.E75 1995  The Encyclopedia of New York City 
F 390.H33 1999 Encyclopedia of the Alamo and the Texas Revolution
F 591.E485 1996  Encyclopedia of the American West, 4 vols.
F 591.N46 1998 The New Encyclopedia of the American West
F 1218.6.95 2001 The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures, 3 vols.
F 1401.S71 2003  The South American Handbook 
Return to Top of Page 
ANTHROPOLOGY, RECREATION 
G 63.C562 1998 The Penguin Dictionary of Geography
G 63.D538 1999 Dictionary of Geography
G 63.W67 2001  Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations 
G 103.5.O94 1995  The Oxford Dictionary of the World 
G 103.5.W42 1997  Merriam-Webster's Geographical Dictionary 
G 122.U56a 2001  The World Factbook 
G 1021.D63 1994  The Dorling Kindersley World Reference Atlas 
GE 10.E53 1999 Encyclopedia of Environmental Science
GE 10.E534 2001 The Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Environmental Change
GE 35.E58 1999 Environmental Literature: An Encyclopedia of Works, Authors, and Themes
GE 149.E47 2002 Encyclopedia of Global Change: Environmental Change and Human Society
GE 150.G72 1995  Great Events from History II. Ecology and the Environment 
GN 25.C65 1994  Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology 
GN 281.E53 2000 Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory
GN 307.E52 1996  Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology, 4 vols. 
GN 307.E527 1996  Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology 
GN 333.W67 1998 Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life, 4 vols.
GN 399.C35 1999 The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Hunters and Gatherers
GR 35.F63 1997 Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, and Art, 2 vols.
GR 35.J664 1995  Larousse Dictionary of World Folklore 
GR 35.M43 2000 Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs, and Customs, 2 vols.
GR 101.A5 1996  American Folklore: An Encyclopedia 
GR 110.A47 P93 1999 A Dictionary and Catalog of African American Folklife of the South
GR 111.M49 C37 2000 Dictionary of Chicano Folklore
GR 830.V3 V36 1994  The Vampire Book: The Encyclopedia of the Undead 
GT 2853.U5 G39 1996  Encyclopedia of North American Eating & Drinking Traditions, Customs & Rituals
GT 3150.T25 2000 Death and the Afterlife: A Cultural Encyclopedia
GV 558.E53 1997  Encyclopedia of Sports Science, 2 vols.
GV 709.5.E83 2000 Encyclopedia of Ethnicity and Sports in the United States
GV 709.544 1996  Encyclopedia of Women and Sports 
GV 867.64.R62 2000 Baseball: An Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Return to Top of Page   
SOCIAL SCIENCES 
H 41.D53 2002 Dictionary of the Social Sciences
H 41.I58 2001 International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences, 26 vols.
H 41.S63 1996  The Social Science Encyclopedia 
HA 155.P37 1997  National Cultures of the World: A Statistical Reference 
HA 541.M864 1997/98 Municipal Reference Guide. New York 
HA 544.A2 2002  New York State Statistical Yearbook 
HB 3711.B936 1997  Business Cycles and Depressions: An Encyclopedia 
HC 15.W67 2002 Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies, 4 vols.
HC 102.E53 1994  Encyclopedia of American Industries, 2 vols. 
HC 102.E54 1999 Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
HC 102.G35 1999 Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History, 2 vols.
HC 110.C6 V347 1995  Hispanic Market Handbook 
HD 30.15.E49 2000 Encyclopedia of Management
HD 30.15.S73 1999 Concise Dictionary of Business Management
HD 58.7.B57 1998 The Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Organizational Behavior
HD 62.15.C668 1995  The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Quality Terms & Concepts 
HD 62.4.S524 1998 The Dictionary of International Business Terms
HD 52.4.G543 1995  Global Business Strategies for the Year 2000 
HD 62.7.B865 2001  Business Plans Handbook 
HD 2344.5.U6 E53 1999 Encyclopedia of African American Business History
HD 2956.S43 1999 Historical Dictionary of the Cooperative Movement
HD 5724.A585 1994  America's Top 300 Jobs 
HD 8051.A63 2003  Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics 
HD 9696.A1 C65 1996  The Annual Computer Industry Almanac 
HE 8689.B77 1998  Broadcasting & Cable Yearbook, 2 vols. 
HE 8700.I57 1997  International Television & Video Almanac 
HE 9803.A1 A9 1997  The Aviation & Aerospace Almanac 
HF 1001.E467 2001 Encyclopedia of Business and Finance, 2 vols.
HF 1001.I53 1996  International Encyclopedia of Business and Management, 6 vols. 
HF 1001.R793 1995  Dictionary of Retailing and Merchandising 
HF 1131.B95 1995  Business Week Guide to the Best Business Schools 
HF 3023.A2 W5 2002/03  Who's Who in Finance and Industry 
HF 5030.H668 1998  Hoover's Handbook of Emerging Companies 
HF 5381.E52 2003  Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance, 4 vols. 
HF 5382.U5 C337 1997  VGM's Careers Encyclopedia 
HF 5382.5.U5 N34 2003  The National Job Bank 
HF 5410.M35 1996  Market Share Reporter 
HF 5415.D4874 1995  Dictionary of Marketing Terms 
HF 5415.M2982 1995  Marketing Encyclopedia: Issues and Trends 
HF 5681.R25 A45 1994  Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios 
HF 5837.E53 2000 Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns
HG 177.N77 1996  The NSFRE Fund-Raising Dictionary 
HG 8025.C58 1999 International Dictionary of Insurance and Finance
HM 17.J64 1995  The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology: A User's Guide 
HM 132.T83 1996  Encyclopedia of Relationships Across the Lifespan 
HM 136.L46 1994  Aggression and Conflict: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia 
HM 251.B476 1995  The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Psychology 
HM 251.H224 1998 The Handbook of Social Psychology, 2 vols.
HM 251.S6743 1996  Social Psychology: Handbook of Basic Principles 
HM 291.E625 1999 Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict, 3 vols.
HM 425.E5 2000 Encyclopedia of Sociology, 5 vols.
HN 28.E53 1994  Encyclopedia of Social History 
HN 59.2 B43 2001 Beacham's Encyclopedia of Social Change: America in the Twentieth Century, 4 vols.
HN 90.V5 V5474 1999 Violence in America: An Encyclopedia, 3 vols.
HQ 9.E52 1995  Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family, 2 vols. 
HQ 9.H846 1994  Human Sexuality: An Encyclopedia 
HQ 21.I68 1998 The International Encyclopedia of Sexuality, 3 vols.
HQ 57.5.A3 C36 2002 Sex, Youth, and Sex Education: A Reference Handbook
HQ 75.5.L4395 2000 Lesbian Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia
HQ 75.13.G37 2000 Gay Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia
HQ 534.E53 1999 Encyclopedia of Family Life, 5 vols.
HQ 536.H365 2001 The Family in America: An Encyclopedia, 2 vols.
HQ 755.8.P3783 2000 Parenthood in America: An Encyclopedia, 2 vols.
HQ 772.G27 1998  The Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood and Adolescence 
HQ 774.I528 2001 Infancy in America: An Encyclopedia, 2 vols.
HQ 775.B635 2001 Boyhood in America: An Encyclopedia, 2 vols.
HQ 777.G5745 2001 Girlhood in America: An Encyclopedia, 2 vols.
HQ 1061.E53 1995  The Encyclopedia of Aging: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia 
HQ 1064.u5.O416 1994  Older Americans Almanac: A Reference Work on Seniors 
HQ 1115.W6 1999 Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia, 17 vols.
HQ1115.W645 1999 Women's Studies Encyclopedia, 3 vols.
HQ 1236.R29 2001 Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers, 2 vols.
HQ 1236.5.U6 S32 1999 From Suffrage to the Senate: An Encyclopedia of American Women in Politics, 2 vols.
HQ 1412.G74 1995  Great Lives from History. American Women Series, 5 vols.
HQ 1870.9.W6548 1998 Women in the Third World: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Issues
HT 108.5.N47 1999 Encyclopedia of World Cities, 2 vols.
HT 861.M24 1998 Macmillan Encyclopedia of World Slavery, 2 vols.
HT 1521.D537 2003 Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity and Culture
HV 12.B36 1999  The Social Work Dictionary 
HV 891.C63 1999 The Early Intervention Dictionary: A Multidisciplinary Guide to Terminology
HV 1568.E53 1995  Encyclopedia of Disability and Rehabilitation 
HV 2475.C66 1998 Random House Webster's American Sign Language Dictionary
HV 5017.O37 1999 The Encyclopedia of Understanding Alcohol and Other Drugs
HV 5760.H57 1999 Encyclopedia of Smoking and Tobacco
HV 5804.C47 1999 The War on Drugs: An International Encyclopedia
HV 5804.E53 1995  Encyclopedia of Drugs and Alcohol 
HV 6431.A537 1995  Historical Dictionary of Terrorism 
HV 7436.G8783 2002 Guns in American Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture, and the Law
HV 7901.E53 1995  The Encyclopedia of Police Science 
HV 9304.W54 1996  Dictionary of American Penology 
Return to Top of Page 
POLITICAL SCIENCE 
JA 61.B43 1999 The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science
JA 83.R725 1998 The Routledge Dictionary of Twentieth Century Political Thinkers
JA 85.2.U6 H57 1999 Historical Dictionary of Political Communication in the United States
JC 423.E53 1995  The Encyclopedia of Democracy 
JF 37.P6 1997  Political Handbook of the World 
JF 511.W67 1998 World Encyclopedia of Parliaments and Legislatures, 2 vols.
JF 2011.W67 1999 World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties, 3 vols.
JK 1.C66 1996  CQ Weekly Report 
JK 9.B56 1999 Encyclopedia of American Parties, Campaigns, and Elections
JK 9.E52 1998 Encyclopedia of American Government, 4 vols.
JK 271.B343 1996  The Almanac of American Politics 
JK 468.P64 J33 1999 Encyclopedia of American Public Policy
JK 511.E53 1994  Encyclopedia of the American Presidency 
JK 1067.E63 1995  The Encyclopedia of the United States Congress 
JK 1118.N47 2000 Encyclopedia of Interest Groups and Lobbyists in the United States, 2 vols.
Return to Top of Page 
LAW 
K 48.L44 2002 Legal Systems of the World: A Political, Social, and Cultural Encyclopedia, 4 vols.
K 52.R8 D42 1995  Dictionary of Business & Legal Terms: Russian/English-English/Russian 
K 68.M35 1993  Martindale-Hubbell International Law Directory, 2 vols.
K 204.P49 1999 The Philosophy of Law: An Encyclopedia, 2 vols.
K 487.E3 N48 1998 The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law, 3 vols.
KF 1.E53 1998 Encyclopedia of Legal Information Sources 
KF 48.A1  United States Code Congressional and Administrative News 
KF 62.A3  United States Code Annotated 
KF 78.S56  Shepard's United States Citations: Statutes 
KF 101.S9  Supreme Court Reporter 
KF 154.W47 1998 West's Encyclopedia of American Law, 12 vols.
KF 156.B53 1999 Black's Law Dictionary
KF 156.G771  The Guide to American Law Yearbook; Everyone's Legal Encyclopedia 
KF 190.M35  The Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory 
KF 209.L452 J39 2001  Dictionary of Selected Legal Terms 
KF 246.P73 1997  Bieber's Dictionary of Legal Citations: Reference Guide 
KF 390.B84 H36 1999 A Handbook of Business Law Terms
KF 879.A45 U5  Uniform Laws Annotated 
KF 3790.A2 E5  Land Use & Environment Law Review 
KF 4150.H56 2001 Student Rights: A Reference Handbook
KF 4548.E53 2000 Encyclopedia of the American Constitution, 6 vols.
KF 4783.A68 R45 2000 Religion and American Law: An Encyclopedia
KF 4817.H56 1999 Immigration and the Law: A Dictionary
KF 4819.I485 2003 Labor Certification Handbook 
KF 4865.A68 A54 1999 Religion and the Law: A Dictionary
KF 8204.E53 1998 The Encyclopedia of Native American Legal Tradition
KF 8742.A35 E53 2001 Encyclopedia of the U.S. Supreme Court, 3 vols.
KF 8742.W567  Congressional Quarterly's Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court 
Return to Top of Page 
EDUCATION 
L 900.I58 2001 International Handbook of Universities 
L 901.B323  Barron's Profiles of American Colleges 
L 901.N34 1998 The National Faculty Directory, 3 vols., suppl.
L 901.P447 2003 Peterson's Annual Guides/Undergraduate Study. Guide to Four-Year Colleges 
L 901.P46 2003 Peterson's Graduate and Professional Programs 
LB 15.D37 1991 American Educators' Encyclopedia 
LB 15.E47  The Encyclopedia of Education 
LB 15.H57 1999 Historical Dictionary of American Education
LB 15.I569  The International Encyclopedia of Education: Research and Studies 
LB 15.W87 2002 World Education Encyclopedia: A Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide, 3 vols.
LB 17.P485 1996  Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia 
LB 17.U54 2001 Encyclopedia of American Education, 3 vols.
LB 1028.R43  Review of Research in Education 
LB 1051.H2356 1999 The Handbook of School Psychology
LB 1139.25.E53 1992 Encyclopedia of Early Childhood Education 
LB 1570.H264 1992 Handbook of Research on Curriculum 
LB 1576.H234 1991 Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts 
LB 1584.H275 1991 Handbook of Research on Social Studies Teaching and Learning 
LB 2337.2.C65 1996 Paying Less for College 
LB 2338.S35 2003 Scholarships, Fellowships, and Loans 
LB 2805.W517 2002 Educational Leadership: A Reference Handbook
LB 2806.36.W45 2000 Charter Schools: A Reference Handbook
LB 2822.82.S82 2001 Standards and Schooling in the United States: An Encyclopedia
LC 111.J87 1998 Religion in the Schools: A Reference Handbook
LC 212.52.R34 1998 Historical Dictionary of School Segregation and Desegregation: The American Experience
LC 1099.D53 1997  Dictionary of Multicultural Education 
LC 1099.3.M58 1999 Encyclopedia of Multicultural Education
LC 1752 .H57 1998 Historical Dictionary of Women's Education in the United States
LC 2741.J33 2001 African American Education: A Reference Handbook
LC 3707.E53 1998 Encyclopedia of Bilingualism and Bilingual Education
LC 3731.F45 2002 Bilingual Education: A Reference Handbook
LC 4007.E53 2000 Encyclopedia of Special Education, 3 vols.
Return to Top of Page 
MUSIC 
M 2.W88 1998  Composers Born 1700 to 1799 
M 1627.N277 1997 National Anthems of the World 
ML 100.G16 1998 The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, 10 vols.
ML 100.H36 1999 The Harvard Concise Dictionary of Music and Musicians
ML 100.N48 1995 The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 20 vols.
ML 102.C7 H37 1994  The Harmony Illustrated Encyclopedia of Country Music 
ML 102.I5 N48 1984 The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments 
ML 102.I5147 1996  The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Musical Instruments 
ML 102.J3 N48 1994 The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz 
ML 102.M68 C73 1998 Soundtracks: An International Dictionary of Composers for Film
ML 102.O6 B26 2000 Baker's Dictionary of Opera
ML 102.O6 I6 1993 International Dictionary of Opera, 2 vols.
ML 102.P66 G84 1998 The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 8 vols.
ML 105.C75 1992 Contemporary Composers 
ML 105.H38 1996  The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music 
ML 105.I5 1999 International Dictionary of Black Composers, 2 vols.
ML 128.I5147 1996  Lissauer's Encyclopedia of Popular Music in America: 1888 to the Present 
ML 160.N44  New Oxford History of Music 
ML 193.C56 1998 Companion to Baroque Music 
Return to Top of Page 
FINE ARTS 
N 31.D5 1996  The Dictionary of Art, 34 vols. 
N 40.B53 1995  A Biographical Dictionary of Artists 
N 40.J23 1999 Dictionary of Bird Artists of the World
N 6502.E53 2000 Encyclopedia of Latin American & Caribbean Art
N 6503.N67 1995  North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century 
N 6757.S77 1999 Nineteenth-Century European Art: A Topical Dictionary
N 7560.E53 1998 Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography: Themes Depicted in Works of Art, 2 vols.
NA 31.C44 1995  A Visual Dictionary of Architecture 
NA 31.F55 1999 The Penguin Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture
NA 705.H36 1998 American Architecture: An Illustrated Encyclopedia
NC 1766.U5 L46 1999 The Encyclopedia of Animated Cartoons
Return to Top of Page 
LANGUAGES & LITERATURE 
P 29.B875 1996  Routledge Dictionary of Language and Linguistics 
PA 6013.A53 1999 Ancient Roman Writers
PE 65.E47 1994  Encyclopedia of English Studies and Language Arts, 2 vols.
PE 1072.C68 1995  The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language 
PE 1112.H287 2001 REA's Handbook of English Grammar, Style, and Writing
PE 1628.N429 2001 The New Oxford American Dictionary
PE 1680.U7 1999 The New York Times Dictionary of Misunderstood, Misused, Mispronounced Words
PE 2833.H63 1999 Homophones and Homographs: An American Dictionary
PE 2846.S64 2000 NTC's Dictionary of American Slang and Colloquial Expressions
PE 3101.N7 H46 1998 New Yawk Tawk: A Dictionary of New York City Expressions
PG 564.S68 1995  South Slavic Writers Before World War II 
PG 2991.2.E2 1995  Early Modern Russian Writers, Late Seventeenth-Eighteenth Centuries 
PJ 7510.E53 1998 Encyclopedia of Arabic Literature, 2 vols.
PN 41.E48 1998 Encyclopedia of Folklore and Literature
PN 41.E487 1998 Encyclopedia of the Novel, 2 vols.
PN 43.W384 1999 Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Allusions
PN 44.5.Q56 1999 A Dictionary of Literary and Thematic Terms
PN 56.L6 B73 1999 Classic Love & Romance Literature: An Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors, & Themes
PN 56.U8 S66 1995  Encyclopedia of Utopian Literature 
PN 86.E63 1999 Encyclopedia of Literary Critics and Criticism, 2 vols.
PN 98.W64.E53 1997  Encyclopedia of Feminist Literary Theory 
PN 141.W72 1996  Writer's Encyclopedia 
PN241 .E56 2000 Encyclopedia of Literary Translation into English, 2 vols.
PN 597.T94 2000 Twentieth-Century Literary Movements Dictionary
PN 669.B78 1998 Classical Myths and Legends in the Middle Ages and Renaissance: A Dictionary of Allegorical Meanings
PN 771.E5 1999 Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century, 4 vols.
PN 841.S33 1995  The Schomburg Center Guide to Black Literature 
PN 1968.U5 S37 1994  The Encyclopedia of Vaudeville 
PN1991.3.U6 D8 1998 On the Air: The Encyclopedia of Old-Time Radio
PN 1991.3.U6 L29 2000 The Encyclopedia of American Radio: An A-Z Guide to Radio from Jack Benny to Howard Stern
PN 1992.8.W65 L69 1999 Women and American Television: An Encyclopedia
PN 1993.45.B49 2001 The Film Studies Dictionary
PN 1993.45.C75 2001 Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory
PN 1993.5.A1 W394 2000 The Animated Film Encyclopedia: A Complete Guide to American Shorts, Features and Sequences 1900-1979
PN1993.5.I8 R277 1999 Encyclopaedia of Indian Cinema
PN 1995.9.H47 R49 1994  Hispanics in Hollywood: An Encyclopedia 
PN 1997.85.T54 1998 The Encyclopedia of Novels into Film
PN 1998.2.F67 1995  Women Film Directors: An International Biocritical Dictionary 
PN 4165.B37 1997  Dictionary of Worldwide Gestures 
PN 4888.T4 E53 1999 Encyclopedia of Television News
PN 6080.O95 1996  The Oxford Dictionary of Quotations 
PQ 149.F47 1999 The Feminist Encyclopedia of French Literature
PQ 4333.D36 2000 The Dante Encyclopedia
PR 595.W6 V49 1999 Victorian Women Poets
PR 769.B75 1995  British Prose Writers of the Early Seventeenth Century 
PR 829.B72 1996  British Short-Fiction Writers, 1800-1880 
PR 829.B746 1996  British Short-Fiction Writers, 1915-1945 
PR 3081.C65 1999 Shakespeare's Names: A New Pronouncing Dictionary
PR 8706.D5 1996  Dictionary of Irish Literature, 2 vols.
PS 21.E53 1999 Encyclopedia of American Literature
PS 153.N5 A344 2000 African-American Writers: A Dictionary
PS 323.5.A5 1998  American Poets Since World War II. Sixth Series 
PS 379.A554 1996  American Novelists Since World War II. Fifth Series 
PS 438.N55 2000 Encyclopedia of 20th-Century American Humor
PT 41.F46 1997  The Feminist Encyclopedia of German Literature 
PT 187.G47 1994 German Writers and Works of the High Middle Ages 1170-1280
PT 193.G48 1995  German Writers and Works of the Early Middle Ages 800-1170 
Return to Top of Page 
SCIENCE 
Q 121.I48 1999 The International Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
Q 121.M3 1997  McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 20 vols. 
Q 123.D53 1999 Chambers Dictionary of Science and Technology
Q 141.B528 2000 The Biographical Dictionary of Scientists, 2 vols.
Q 141.Y675 1999 A to Z of Women in Science and Math
Q 141.O27 2002 International Encyclopedia of Women Scientists
Q 157.E57 2000 Encyclopedia of Pseudoscience
Q 173.S428 2000 Scientifically Speaking: A Dictionary of Quotations
Q 175.5.N49 1999 Social Issues in Science and Technology: An Encyclopedia
Q 184.5.I57 1998  Instruments of Science: An Historical Encyclopedia 
QA 11.E665 2001 Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education
QA 76.15.D44313 1995  Elsevier's Dictionary of Computer Science 
QA 76.15.E48 2000 Encyclopedia of Computer Science
QA 76.15.F732 1999 Computer Desktop Encyclopedia
QA 76.15.F733 1998 The Computer Glossary: The Complete Illustrated Dictionary
QA 76.758.E53 1994  Encyclopedia of Software Engineering, 2 vols. 
QA 76.76.O63 U545134  The UNIX Dictionary of Commands, Terms, and Acronyms 
QB 14.E534 2001 Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics, 4 vols.
QB 15.H624 1997  History of Astronomy: An Encyclopedia 
QB 500.262.Z56 2000 The Chronological Encyclopedia of Discoveries in Space
QB 600.2.E53 1997 Encyclopedia of Planetary Sciences
QC 5.F34 1999 The Facts on File Dictionary of Physics
QC 5.M15 1996  Macmillan Encyclopedia of Physics, 4 vols.
QC 173.397.L53 1994  CRC Handbook of Thermophysical and Thermochemical Data 
QC 762.E53 1996  Encyclopedia of Nuclear Magnetic Resonance, 8 vols.
QC 854.E523 1996  Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather, 2 vols. 
QD 5.F33 1999 The Facts on File Dictionary of Chemistry
QE 5.E5137 1996  Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences, 2 vols.
QE 355.R6 1990  Encyclopedia of Minerals 
QH 75.E49 1994  Encyclopedia of Endangered Species 
QH 76.C73 1999 Habitats and Ecosystems: An Encyclopedia of Endangered America
QH 83.T77 1999 Elsevier's Dictionary of the Genera of Life
QH 302.5.E47 1998 Elsevier's Dictionary of Biology
QH 302.5.E525 2002 Encyclopedia of Life Sciences, 20 vols.
QH 302.5.M382 1997  McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Bioscience 
QH 332.E52 1995  Encyclopedia of Bioethics 
QH 427.K55 2002  A Dictionary of Genetics 
QH 506.C74 1999  The Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology, 4 vols. 
QH 540.4.E52 1995  Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology, 3 vols. 
QK 9.D52 1998 A Dictionary of Plant Sciences
QK 110.B46 2000 The Encyclopedia of North American Trees
QL 614.7.E535 1998 Encyclopedia of Fishes
QL 641.E53 1998 Encyclopedia of Reptiles & Amphibians
QL 701.2.E53 1998 Encyclopedia of Mammals
QP 11.E53 1997  Encyclopedia of Human Biology, 9 vols.
QP 360.I55 1999 INS Dictionary of Neuropsychology
QP 771.E53 1996  Encyclopedia of Vitamins, Minerals, and Supplements 
Return to Top of Page 
MEDICINE 
R 121.M65 1997  Encyclopedia & Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Allied Health
R 121.M89 1998 Mosby's Medical, Nursing, & Allied Health Dictionary
R 121.O884 2001 Oxford Illustrated Companion to Medicine
R 121.S8 2000  Stedman's Medical Dictionary
R 121.W36 1999 Webster's New Explorer Medical Dictionary
R 733.E525 1999 Encyclopedia of Complementary Health Practice
R 857.M3 W55 1999 The Williams Dictionary of Biomaterials
RA 423.E53 2002 Encyclopedia of Public Health, 4 vols.
RA 644.A25 E5276 1998 Encyclopedia of AIDS: A Social, Political, Cultural, and Scientific Record of the HIV Epidemic
RA 790.5.E53 1998 Encyclopedia of Mental Health, 3 vols.
RA 1017.B35 1998 The Concise Dictionary of Medical-Legal Terms: A General Guide to Interpretation and Usage
RC 41.G35 1999 The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, 5 vols.
RC 262.A39 2000 The Cancer Dictionary
RC 954.E53 2001 Encyclopedia of Elder Care: The Comprehensive Resource on Geriatric and Social Care
RG 133.5.E855 1998 The Ethics of Sex and Genetics
RJ 502.5.H362 2000 Handbook of Infant Mental Health, 4 vols.
RT 21.G353 2002 The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health, 5 vols.
RT 31.S66 1999 Historical Encyclopedia of Nursing
RT 42.H65 2000 Holistic Nursing: A Handbook for Practice
Return to Top of Page 
AGRICULTURE 
SF 523.C856 1990  Bees and Beekeeping: Science, Practice, and World Resources 
Return to Top of Page 
TECHNOLOGY 
T 9.C96 2000 The Cutting Edge: An Encyclopedia of Advanced Technologies
T 57.6.E53 1996  Encyclopedia of Operations Research and Management Science 
T 385.M87 1994  Encyclopedia of Graphics File Formats 
TA 9.W43 2000 A Dictionary of Environmental & Civil Engineering
TA 15.B42 1998  The Reference Guide to Famous Engineering Landmarks of the World 
TA 403.B75 1996  Materials Handbook: An Encyclopedia 
TA 418.9.C6 C635  Concise Encyclopedia of Composite Materials 
TD 351.V36 1990  The Water Encyclopedia 
TJ 151.C73 1998 The CRC Handbook of Mechanical Engineering
TK 9.C575 1999 Comprehensive Dictionary of Electrical Engineering
TK 145.E354 1997  The Electrical Engineering Handbook 
TK 5102.P48 1999 Data & Telecommunications Dictionary
TK 6710.N37 1999  U.S. Business Communications Directory 
TK 7871.N44 1995  Handbook of Electromagnetic Materials 
TK 7871.85.C595 1992  Concise Encyclopedia of Semiconducting Materials & Related Technologies 
TK 9146.H45 2000 Nuclear Power: A Reference Handbook
TP 248.6.L4 1999 Genetic Engineering: A Reference Handbook
TP 368.2.E62 2000 Encyclopedia of Food Science and Technology, 4 vols.
TP 1110.P65 1996  Polymeric Materials Encyclopedia, 12 vols.
TT 503.B33 1995  The Guide to Historic Costume 
Return to Top of Page 
MILITARY SCIENCE 
U 24.B73 1994  Brassey's Encyclopedia of Military History 
U 24.D4913  A Dictionary of Military History and the Art of War 
U 27.C26 1995  The Cambridge Illustrated History of Warfare 
U 27.R348 1996  The Reader's Companion to Military History 
U 51.A94 1998 The Macmillan Dictionary of Military Biography
UA 23.E56 1994  Encyclopedia of the American Military, 3 vols. 
UB 418.W65 F75 1996  Women in the United States Military, 1901-1995: A Research Guide 
Return to Top of Page 
NAVAL SCIENCE 
V 27.B86 1998  An Encyclopedia of Naval History 
Return to Top of Page 
LIBRARY SCIENCE 
Z 253.53.C68 1995  Dictionary of Desktop Publishing 
Z 658.U5 H84 1999 Censorship in America: A Reference Handbook
Z 711.9.H35 2000 Handbook of Black Librarianship
Z 721.E54 1994  Encyclopedia of Library History 


Return to CSI Library Home Page