|
GUIDE TO SELECTED RESOURCES FOR TOPICS IN
EDUCATION
Encyclopedias, Handbooks, Guides
A selection from among the many more available in the Reference Collection located on the Library 1st floor.
- The Big Book of Special Education Resources. Thousand Oaks, California: Corwin Press. REF LC3965. G538 2006
- Doing Your Research Project: A Guide for First-time Researchers in Education, Health and Social Science. New York: Open University Press. REF LB1028 .B394 2005
- Greenwood Dictionary of Education. Westport, Connecticut: Greenwood Press. REF LB15. G68 2003
- Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children. Mahwah, New Jersey: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates. REF LB1119. H25 2006
- The Sage Handbook for Research in Education: Engaging Ideas and Enriching Inquiry. Thousand Oaks, California: Sage Publications. REF LB1026. S14 2006
- Historical Dictionary of American Education. Westport, Connecticut: Greenwood
Press. REF LB15.H57 1999
- Educational Media and Technology Yearbook. Littleton, Colorado: Libraries
Unlimited Inc. REF LB1028.3.E37 2007
- Encyclopedia of Education. 2nd ed. New York: Macmillan Reference USA. REF
LB15.E47 2003
- Encyclopedia
of School Psychology. Thousand Oaks, California: Sage Publications,
2005. REF LB1027.55.E523 2005
- Handbook
of Research on Educational Communications and Technology: a project of the
Association for Educational Communications and Technology.
Mahwah, New Jersey: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates REF LB1028.3.H355 2004
- Handbook
of Research on Multicultural Education. 2nd ed.San Francisco:
Jossey-Bass. REF LC1099.3.H35 2004
- Requirements
for Certification: teachers, counselors, librarians, administrators for
elementary schools, and secondary schools. Chicago: University
of Chicago Press, 2006/2007
Index and Abstracts
The following title is located in the Index and Abstracts section on the
Library 2nd floor.
Exceptional Child Education Resources (ECER)
Comprehensive index of resources in special education and gifted children. Published
by the Council for Exceptional Children. Contains citations and abstracts of
print and non-print materials dealing with the education and development of
people of all ages who possess disabilities or who are gifted. Compatible with
the ERIC database; some overlap exists between the two. Years available, 1978-2004.
Subject Specific
- ERIC (Educational
Resources Information Center) The world's premier database of journal
and non-journal education literature. Sponsored by The Institute
of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education. Contains more than
one million abstracts of documents and journal articles on educational research
and practice from 1966 on. Also provides full text access to non-journal
documents from 1993* on. Includes the online ERIC thesaurus of descriptors
or education-related terms. Accessible as well through EBSCOhost
providing many links to full text articles.
*All ERIC non-journal documents from 1958-present available
on microfiche located in the Microforms Room on the second floor of the
Library.
- Education
Full Text Comprehensive coverage of a range of professional and
general interest articles in English from worldwide sources such as periodicals,
monographs and yearbooks. Full text articles from hundreds of journals.
Indexing beginning 1983, full text beginning 1996. An online thesaurus is
available.
- Education:
A Sage Full Text Collection Full text access to journals in education
published by Sage and participating societies, encompassing over 7000 articles.
Covers such subjects as assessment; curriculum; early childhood, middle
school, high school, and secondary education; multicultural education; diversity;
special education; gifted children; teaching methods; etc.
- Mental
Measurements Yearbook Full text information about, and reviews of,
commercially available English-language standardized tests in educational
skills, vocational aptitude, personality, psychology, and related areas.
The
Mental Measurement Yearbooks 9 through 15*, produced by the Buros
Institute.
* The Mental Measurements Yearbook 2 through 15 is available in
print and located in the Reference area on the Library 1st floor.
- Education Statistics at a Glance
Brings together several government resources that collect and analyze data
related to education.Sponsored by the National Center for Education Statistics. Includes:
The Condition of Education , The Digest of Education Statistics, Indicators of School Crime and Safety, Projections of Education Statistics, and Youth Indicators, retrievable through subject area and title searches.
Related Disciplines
- PsycInfo
The comprehensive database for research in topics in psychology, including
the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as education, etc.
Online version of Psychological Abstracts . Contains citations
and abstracts of the scholarly literature (journals, books, dissertations,
etc.) in the field going back to the nineteenth century.
- PsycArticles
Full text articles on current issues in psychology as well as in the psychological
aspects of related disciplines. Links are available through PsycInfo. Coverage
spans from 1985 to the present.
- SocIndex – comprehensive coverage of research literature in the field of sociology and its sub disciplines including cultural sociology, social psychology, and educational psychology, etc.
- Kluwer
Journals Online/SpringerLink Full text access to scholarly journals
in subjects such as the natural sciences, computer science, mathematics,
medicine, technology, and education. Covers specialized fields of mathematics
and science education, comparative education, business education, and technology
education.
- JSTOR
Full text access to complete back runs of selected scholarly journals going
back to the first issue, in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Allows for cross-disciplinary searching. Arts & Sciences collections
I and II contain select titles for the discipline of education.
- Project
MUSE Full text access to scholarly online journals in the humanities,
the social sciences, and the arts published by Johns Hopkins University
Press, as well as by other not-for profit presses and scholarly societies.
A select number of discipline-specific titles in education available.
General
- Academic
Search Premier A multi-disciplinary database providing selected
full text articles from scholarly journals in various fields, including
education and related disciplines. A subject authority file (thesaurus)
lists the information contained in the database according to topic. Can
be accessed through the navigation button, Subject Terms .
- Lexis-Nexis
Academic Full text database that provides access to a wide range
of general news, business news, health news and reference materials.
- Infoshare
Online Statistical information from U.S. local, state and national
databases describing population, health and socio-economic conditions. Sponsored
by Community Studies of New York, Inc., Infoshare includes statistics about
a wide variety of "geographic areas" such as school districts,
mental health regions, census tracts, congressional districts, etc. Allows
for comparison between areas using selected data.
Internet Resources and Web Sites back
to top
- Access Excellence
Health, Biology, and Life Science resources for K-12 science teachers as well as students in science education programs. Sponsored by the National Health Museum (NHM), the site provides sections on current science and biomedical news with links to pertinent in class activities designed by teachers.
- Librarians'
Internet Index A searchable, annotated subject directory of Internet
resources pertaining to education, selected and evaluated by librarians. A
good beginning access to topics in education such as k-12; early childhood;
internet in education; tests; etc.
- Education Virtual
Library Huge resource for worldwide educational sites. Valuable
information resources for teachers, students, parents, and administrators.
Includes GEM (Gateway to Educational Materials), a consortium providing educators
with lesson plans, computer applications, as well as question and answer services.
- Infomine, Scholarly Internet Resource
Collections Scholarly Internet resources relevant to students and
faculty at the university level. Contains useful education websites.
Also many links to online catalogs, databases (for fee-based subscriptions,
inquire at library Reference Desk), mailing lists, bulletin boards, electronic
journals (ditto for fee-based ones), federal government resources. Created
by librarians.
- MarcoPolo: Internet Content
for the Classroom Professional development and standards based
Internet content across the curriculum for K-12 teachers and students throughout
the United States. Sponsored by a non-profit consortium of national educational
organizations, state agencies, and foundations. Presents lesson plans and
other teacher resources organized by subject, grade level, and national standards.
- New York State Education DepartmentNew York State education information and resources for licensed professionals,
school administrators, teachers, and students. Sponsered by The State University of New York, it includes curriculum material, assessment information,
learning standards, teacher certification and licensing requirements, and
information about grants and finance, etc.
- NYC Department of Education
- Information on department services, policies, special programs, news items.
Information on department services, policies, special programs, news items.
In the CSI collection
A complete list of periodicals relevant to Education and related disciplines
available in the CSI Library can be found at the Journal
Titles link on the Library home page. Select Subject--> Social and Behavioral
Sciences. Format availability (print, microfilm, or online) will be indicated.
Prominent titles include:
Ejournals Internet, open access, full text, peer reviewed, free)
A complete list of Ejournals relevant to Education and related disciplines
can be found on the website of the American
Educational Research Association Special Interest Group. Many Ejournals
also appear in the Journal
Titles link cited above. Prominent titles include:
On the Library 2nd floor (1L-201), Library Media Services houses a collection
of videotapes, among them videos on topics in education including special education,
school systems, science education., race relations, supervision, etc. For further
information please call (718) 982-4035.
Compiled by Rebecca Adler, Assoc. Prof. and Head of Reference
|
|