|
SELECTED RESOURCES FOR TOPICS IN
ECONOMICS
| |
Reference- |
| |
Selected from our Reference collection, located on the 1st floor
of the Library.
- The
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law. New York: Stockton Press, 1998.
K 487.E3 N48 1998
- New
York State Statistical Yearbook. HA 544 .A2 (latest edition at the Reference Desk)
- The
Routledge Critical Dictionary of Global Economics. New York: Routledge. HB 61.R68
1999
- The
Routledge Encyclopedia of International Political Economy. New York: Routledge, 2001. HF1359.R68
2001
- Statistical
Abstract of the United States. Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the
Census. HA 202.A3 (latest edition at the Reference Desk)
- Statistical
Yearbook. New
York: United Nations. HA 12.5.U63 2004 (latest edition at
the Reference Desk)
|
| |
Index and Abstracts- |
| |
The following titles are located in the Index and Abstracts
section on the 2nd floor of the Library.
- Business
Periodicals Index
- Index
of Economic Articles
- Journal
of Economic Abstracts
- Journal
of Economic Literature
- Social
Sciences Index
- Wall
Street Journal Index
|
| |
Circulating Books- |
| |
Selected from our Circulating collection, located on the
3rd floor of the Library.
- Applied
Economics: Thinking Beyond Stage One. New York: Basic Books. HB 74.P65 S69 2004 (1st floor – New
Book Shelf)
- Bronze
Age Economics: The Beginnings of Political Economies. Boulder, CO: Westview Press.
GN 778.E27 2002
- Economic Impacts of Intelligent Transportation Systems: Innovations and Case Studies. Amsterdam: Elsevier JAI. HE 1.R47 v.8
- Essentials
of Economics, 4th ed. Boston:
McGraw-Hill/Irwin. HB 171.5.S2923 2002
- Ethics,
Economics and Politics: Principles of Public Policy. New York: Oxford University Press.
HB 72.L575 2003
- Feminist
Economics Today: Beyond Economic Man. Chicago: University of Chicago Press. HQ 1381.F465
2003
- On
Adam Smith's Wealth of Nations: A Philosophical
Companion. Princeton, N.J.: Princeton University
Press. HB 103.S6 F59 2004
- Microeconomics : Behavior, Institutions, and Evolution. Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press. HB 172 .B67 2004
|
| |
Indexes
and Abstracts- |
| |
- EconLit
Comprehensive index and abstracts of Economics journals and books.
EconLit offers indexes and abstracts of the contents of
over 400, primarily English-language Economics journals as well as
articles in collective volumes; citations from 1969, abstracts from
1987 to present. Full text links through EBSCO and other databases.
- Social
Sciences Abstracts
Comprehensive index of worldwide social sciences articles.
Social
Sciences Abstracts is an index to scholarly articles in professional
journals in all social sciences fields with extensive
coverage of Economics subject material.
- Sociological
Abstracts
Index of international Sociological periodicals and books.
Sociological Abstracts offers articles from about 2,000 journals in 30 languages
from some 55 countries, from 1973. It offers excellent coverage of Economics
subject material.
- U.S. Government
Printing Office Publications
Catalog of all U.S. Government
Publications.
The U.S. Government Printing Office Publications catalog lists citations for
all government publications. GPO Access provides full text for many publications.
|
| |
Full Text- |
| |
- Academic
Search Premier
Full text database covering all subject areas, including news articles.
Academic Search Premier Carries
full textof over 20 Economics journals and over 3,400 journals in numerous fields.
- Business & Company
Resources
Comprehensive full text business and industry information
database.
Business & Company Resources is a fully integrated resource
bringing together scholarly and trade journal articles, company profiles,
brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories,
and more. Search this database to find detailed company and industry
news and information
- Business
Source Premier
Comprehensive full text database covering Business and Economics journals.
Business Source Premier offers over 2,260 scholarly business
journals on management, economics, finance, accounting
and more.
- Business
Wire News
Full text of business wires from the past
30 days.
Business Wire News contains wires from around
the world covering business, economic, political, and international
news events from the past 30 days.
- Directory
of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Full text database of free electronic journals.
The Directory of Open Access Journals provides access to
over 20 journals of Economics, 14 of Business, and hundreds in
numerous other fields.
- Ethnic
Newswatch
Full text bilingual news and culture database.
The Ethnic Newswatch database offers news, journals and
magazines from ethnic, minority and native presses.
- JSTOR
Full text
database of journals in the Humanities and Arts and Sciences.
JSTOR carries full text of over 23 Economics journals, as well as hundreds of
journals in the Arts and Sciences.
- SpringerLink
Full text database of journals,
books, and reviews.
SpringerLink offers
full text of over 80 Economics journals,
including hundreds of other scholarly journals.
- LexisNexis
Academic
Full text database for current news from worldwide sources,
as well as legal news, research and reviews.
Lexis Nexis Academic provides a wide range
of news, business, legal and reference information from over 5000
sources, compiled specifically for the research needs of academic
institutions. Guides are available from the site, and tutorials from Duke or Yale.
- New
York Times Historical from 1851
Full text coverage of the New York Times since its inception
with images and page maps.
The New York Times Historical database offers searchable
full text of all elements of the New York Times newspapers since
1851. PDF versions of full-page maps and individual articles allow
for a better sense of the importance and placement of articles.
- Project
Muse
Full
text database of journals of
Arts and Sciences.
Project Muse provides
full text access to over 13 journals
in Economics, as well as hundreds
of journals in the Arts and Sciences.
- TOPICsearch
Full
text database of current events articles.
TOPICsearch provides full text access to over
64,000 articles from more than 3,000 diverse sources for current events
in political, economic and scientific issues.
|
| |
Statistical- |
| |
- County and City
Data Books (GEOSTAT)
This electronic version of the 1988, 1994, and 2000 County
and City Data Books allows custom data subsets and printouts.
GEOSTAT’s
County and City Data Books offer detailed census data arranged
by county, city and state for easy access. GEOSTAT’s
home page also offers additional statistical and geographic
data, including business, industry, crime and elections.
- CIA World
Factbook
World statistics including maps and country profiles that
are frequently updated.
The CSI World Factbook provides maps, country flags, worldwide
and country statistics, including excellent coverage of military
statistics. The World Factbook also provides statistics on
transnational issues, such as Illicit Drugs and Refugees.
- Infoshare
Database of immigration, socio-economic and other world
data with selection and processing tools.
Infoshare provides population statistics, immigration trends,
socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations,
local economic data, and much more. Individuals can use various
tools to: profile areas; compare area across a region; produce
your own tabulations; print or save data to spreadsheet,
presentation, and mapping programs.
- Inter-University
Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
CSI is a member of this organization, which supplies data sets and other
information. More
- Statistical
Abstract of the United States
Electronic version of the national data book of United States
statistics compiled from various Federal agencies and
private organizations.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States contains a
collection of statistics on social and economic conditions
in the United States. Selected international data are
also included. The Abstract is also a Guide to Sources
of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies,
and private organizations.
- U.S.
Census Bureau
Home page of the Census Bureau offers numerous geographical,
economic and social statistics and facts.
In addition to the statistical information, facts, geographical
data and news, the U.S. Census Bureau’s homepage
provides tutorials on how to best use the site and
statistics. See their frequently asked questions
for more information.
|
| |
In
the CSI Collection
|
| |
A complete list of periodicals on Economics and related disciplines
available
at the CSI library can be found at the “Journal
Titles” link on the Library home page. In the “Browse
Journal by Subject” section, select “Business and Economics” and
then select from our various subtopics such as “Macroeconomics” or “Economic
Systems and Theories, Economic History”. Then click “Search.” Format
availability (print, microfilm, electronic) will be indicated.
Prominent titles include:
- B
Quest
http://www.westga.edu/~bquest/
B Quest is a peer-reviewed electronic journal of applied
topics in business and economics. The journal is divided into three
sections: Research, Pedagogy, and Commentary. Only the articles in
the Research section are peer reviewed, academic articles. All other
sections are not peer-reviewed because they are either pedagogical
tools or opinion pieces.
- Chimera
http://www.usaafrica.org/chimera.html
Chimera is a quarterly peer-reviewed electronic journal
published by the U.S.A./Africa Institute. The journal offers discussions
of culture, economic development, governance, diplomacy and more
as related to the U.S.A. and African initiatives.
- Demographic
Research
http://www.demographic-research.org/
Demographic Research is a quarterly peer-reviewed electronic
journal of the population sciences published by the Max Planck Institute
for Demographic Research in Rostock, Germany. The journal focuses
on demographic research and related material from the full range
of disciplines that bear on demography, including the social sciences,
the life sciences, mathematics and statistics, and policy research.
- Economics
Bulletin
http://www.economicsbulletin.uiuc.edu/Main.asp
Economics Bulletin is a peer-reviewed electronic journal
that publishes articles in all areas of research economics. Notes,
Comments and Preliminary Results are all refereed, and research announcements
and non-refereed materials are also available.
- Electronic
Journal of Evolutionary Modeling and Economic Dynamics
http://beagle.u-bordeaux4.fr/jemed/
This peer-reviewed electronic journal publishes articles
from all areas of economics if they are based on an evolutionary
model. Possible topics include, but are not limited to: Selection
and evolutionary industry dynamics; Evolutionary game theory; Modeling
bounded rationality and learning through evolutionary algorithms;
Agent based modeling of Complex Adaptive Systems.
- The
European Journal of Comparative Economics
http://eaces.liuc.it/default.asp
The European Journal of Comparative Politics is an irregularly
published peer-reviewed electronic journal for scientific articles
publishing theoretical and empirical research in any field of comparative
economic studies.
- U.S.
Housing Market Conditions
http://www.huduser.org/periodicals/ushmc.html
U.S. Housing Market Conditions, published quarterly, is
a compilation of statistical data and written reports. Tabular data
indicate market conditions on the national level and are presented
for each quarter. Historical data are also presented in summary tables.
Overviews of economic and housing market trends are presented for
ten geographical regions, the report for each of which includes a
profile on a selected housing market.
- Peace
Economics, Peace Science, and Public Policy
http://www.bepress.com/peps/
The journal Peace Economics, Peace Science and Public Policy
aims to “further research in Peace Science… to expose
the peace science community… to innovative peace related research,
and to disseminate peace methods and analysis to a wider audience”.
This peer-reviewed journal is published quarterly.
- The
Review of Network Economics
http://www.rnejournal.com/
The Review of Network Economics is a quarterly peer-reviewed
electronic journal that seeks to help policy makers, academics, and
practitioners keep informed of new research and policy debate in
network economics and related subjects.
|
| |
- The Brookings
Institution: Economic Studies
http://www.brook.edu/es/es_hp.htm
The Brookings Institution Economic Studies monitors the
global economy and seeks answers to economic policy
issues in the U.S. and around the world. Their research
aims to increase the public's understanding of how
the economy works and how to make it better. The
site offers articles, research, documents, data,
and events information.
- CIAO: Columbia
International Affairs Online
http://www.ciaonet.org/
Working papers, conference proceedings and research reports
on international affairs. Includes information from the American
Enterprise Institute, Brookings Institution, Cato Institute, and
the London School of Economics.
- Congressional
Budget Office
http://www.cbo.gov/
This government site offers the most current Budget and
Economic outlook, as well as links to economic projections, forecasting records, terms and more.
- FirstGov:
The U.S. Government’s Official Web Portal
http://www.firstgov.gov/
FirstGov offers links to all US government sites of interest,
including the Executive, Legislative and Judicial branches, information
on benefits, grants, defense, education and more.
- Social Sciences
Data on the Net
http://odwin.ucsd.edu/idata/
The site, managed by the University of California, San Diego,
offers over 360 Internet sites of numeric Social Science statistical
data, data catalogs, data libraries, social science gateways, addresses
and more. The site also offers links to over 80 other social sciences
information gateways.
- SOSIG: Economics
Gateway
http://www.sosig.ac.uk/economics
The SOSIG Economics Gateway provides free access to high
quality economics resources on the Internet. Each resource has been
evaluated and categorized by subject specialists based at UK universities.
- The World
Bank Group: Data and Research
http://econ.worldbank.org/
Research from the World Bank on Development Economics, including
research reports, prospects, data, documents and tools.
|
| |
Indexes
and Abstracts |
| |
On
the 2nd floor of the library (1L-201), Media Services
houses a collection of video resources for Economics, including documentaries
and feature films in areas of interest, both domestic and international,
such as the “Economy USA” series on Economic conditions
in the United States since 1945.
Compiled by Prof. Catherine Perkins, June 2005. Last updated May 2006.
Suggestions/Comments?
|
|