College of Staten Island
Books Articles Research Assistance Services About us
Return Home

SELECTED RESOURCES FOR TOPICS IN CINEMA AND MEDIA RESEARCH

Print Resources back to top

Reference

Selected from our Reference Collection, located on the 1st floor of the Library.

Film Production

Call #: TR 847 through TR 850 includes:
The Filmmaker’s Handbook: A Comprehensive Guide for the Digital Age. New York, NY: Plume. REF TR 850.P54 1999

Radio

Call #: PN 1990 through PN 1991 includes:
On the Air: the Encyclopedia of Old-Time Radio. New York: Oxford University Press. REF PN 1991.3.U6 D8 1998
The Encyclopedia of American Radio: An A-Z Guide to Radio from Jack Benny to Howard Stern. New York: Facts on File. REF PN 1991.3 U6 L29 2000

Television

Call PN 1992 includes:
Encyclopedia of Television vol. 1-3. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborne Publishers. REF PN 1992.18 E53 1997
Encyclopedia of Television News. Phoenix, Ariz.: Oryx Press. REF PN4888.T4 E53 1999
Women and American Television: An Encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO. REF PN 1992.8 .W65 L69 1999

Cinema

Call PN 1993 through PN 1998.2 includes:
The American Film Institute Catalog of Motion Pictures Produced in the United States. New York: R.R. Bowker. REF PN 1998 A57
The Animated Film Encyclopedia: A Complete Guide to American Shorts, Features and Sequences 1900-1979. Jefferson, N.C.; London: McFarland. REF PN1993.5 A1 W394 2000
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory. London; New York: Routledge. REF PN1993.45 .C75 2001
The Encyclopedia of Ethnic Groups in Hollywood. New York: Facts on File. Ref PN1995.9 M56 M85 2003
The Encyclopedia of Filmmakers. (2vols.). New York: Facts on File. REF PN 1998.2 T53 2002 v.1, v.2
The Encyclopedia of Westerns. New York, Facts on File. REF PN 1995.9 W 4 F27 2003
An Encyclopedia of Women in Early American Film. New York: Haworth Press. REF PN 1998.2. L686 2005
The Film Encyclopedia. New York: Harper Perennial. REF PN 1993.45 .K34 1998
A Guide to References and Sources (25 volumes on various directors). Boston, Mass.: G.K. Hall. REF PN 1998.A3
The Motion Picture Guide: Silent – 1997. Chicago: Cinebooks. Ref PN 1995.M4334
The New Biographical Dictionary of Film. New York: Knopf. Ref PN1998.2 T49 2002
The New York Times Film Reviews (1913 –1996). New York: New York Times. REF PN1995.N4
Oxford Guide to Film Studies. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press. REF PN1995 .093 1998
Reel Women: Pioneers of the Cinema, 1986 to the Present. New York: Continuum. REF PN1998.2 A24 1991
Screenwriting for Film and Television. Boston: Allyn and Bacon. REF PN1996. M62 1998
Women Film Directors: An International Bio-critical Dictionary. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press. PN1998.2 F67 1995
Variety Film Reviews 1907-1986. vol. 1-19. New York: Garland Pub. REF PN1995.V341

Circulating Books back to top

Selected from our Circulating collection, located on the 3rd floor of the Library. Search the following catalogs:

CSI: CUNY+ on library homepage to search CSI holdings. For all CUNY libraries: Select all CUNY libraries on CSI catalog search page.

WorldCat: Contains cataloged records of almost every library in the U.S. and in other countries around the world. It is connected to Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery Service for any item that you wish to retrieve.

New York Public Library: www.nypl.org

Indexes and Abstracts back to top

The following titles available in print are located in the Index and Abstracts section on the 2nd floor of the library. Also see Electronic Index and Full Text Databases (below).

Art Index

“A quarterly author and subject index to publications in the fields of archeology, architecture, art history, arts and crafts, city planning, fine arts, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape design, photography & films, and related subjects.” v.1-v.43 (1929-1995)

Film Literature Index

“Author-subject periodical index to the international literature of film.” v.1-v.28 (1973-2000)

Humanities Index

Index of Humanities’ periodicals, v.1- v.21 (1974-1994). Also available online.

International Index to Film Periodicals

Prepared by the International Federation of Film Archives, London: Indexes of motion picture periodicals, 1972-1974, 1976-1986.

MLA Bibliography

Bibliography of Modern Languages; Literature, History and Criticism, 1921 - 2003.

The New York Times Index

Index September 1851-2003. Also available online.

Periodicals in the CSI Collection back to top

The following is a selective list of film and media studies periodicals available at CSI. Check library catalog for dates and location (periodical collection is located on the 3rd floor, newest issues and the microfilm collection are on the 2nd. floor). Copies of articles in a journal not owned by CSI may be obtained through interlibrary loan.

American Cinematographer
Cahiers du Cinéma
Cineaste
Cinema Journal
Film Comment
Film Criticism
Film Culture
Film History
Film Literature Index
Film Quarterly microfilm
Hollywood Quarterly
Journal of Film and Video
Journal of Popular Film and Television
Journal of Popular Film
Journal of the University Film Association
Journal of the University Film and Video Association
Jump Cut: A Review of Contemporary Media
Persistence of Vision: the journal of the Film Faculty of the City University of New York
Quarterly of Film, Radio, and Television
Quarterly Review of Film and Video
Quarterly Review of Film Studies
Sight and Sound
Sightlines

Databases back to top

The following is a selective list of electronic databases useful for Cinema and Media research. These and other sites can be found on the Article and Reference Databases page.

Indexes and Abstracts back to top

Art Index

Index of articles in art history and the fine arts that include motion pictures, TV, and video topics. Find film topics by using a keyword search or by browsing the subject motion pictures. Over 400 leading art publications from around the world with information compiled by specialists with expertise in all fields of art to provide an international perspective; from 1984 to present.
(Available in print from 1929-1995: Index and Abstract section. 2nd floor).

Film Literature Index

Contains 700,000 citations to articles on film, television and video including production reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001. (Available in print from 1973-2000).

Humanities Abstracts

Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. (Available in print 1974-1994).

MLA

Abstracts and Bibliography from Modern Language Association. Find film topics by using a keyword search or by browsing the subject film. (Available in print 1921-2003).

Psychinfo

Contains more than 1.8 million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports; summaries of world literature in psychology and related disciplines; over 1700 periodicals in 27 languages. More than 60,000 records are added each year through weekly updates. Find film topics by using a keyword search or by browsing the subject motion pictures entertainment.

Sociological Abstracts

Covers about 2000 journals in 30 languages from some 55 countries; sociological abstracts, from 1973. Find film topics by keyword search or by using the subject films.
(Available in print also on the 2nd floor).

Full Text back to top

Academic Search Premier

Full text general database for scholarly articles in over 3400 journals, plus citations to many more. Check site for complete list of journal titles indexed.

Articles from the Directory of Open Access Journals

This service contains free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals that aims to cover all subjects and languages. There are now 766 journals in the directory.

ARTICLES Online from HighWire

Available through Stanford University. As of 8/5/01, they are assisting in the online publication of free full text articles.

Communications and Mass Media Complete

Consists of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). This database provides an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media, as well as full text of over 200 journals.

Grove Dictionary of Art

This is an online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day, and the electronic full text version of the 34-volume reference work. (Available in print 1996).

JSTOR

Full text articles from the first issue of several hundred journals in the Arts & Sciences I & II, General Science, Language & Literature collections.

Lexis-Nexis Academic

Full text database that provides a wide range of news, business, legal and reference information from over 5000 sources, compiled specifically for the research needs of academic institutions. Guides are available from the site, and tutorials from Duke or Yale.

Project Muse

Project MUSE® offers nearly 250 full text journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers, covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Journal titles include the following: Camera Obscura, Cinema Journal, Film History: An International Journal, The Moving Image, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, and Wide Angle.

Newspapers back to top

Check the CSI library catalog for other newspapers available as paper issues or on microfilm.

The New York Times Historical from 1851

Searchable full text from the first issue with page format results from 1851-2001.

New York State Newspapers

Full text: Binghamton Press & Sun-Bulletin, Buffalo News, New York Observer, New York Post, New York Times, Rochester Democrat and Chronicle, Syracuse Herald-American, Syracuse Herald-Journal, Syracuse Post-Standard, and Westchester Journal News.

Custom Newspapers Full Text

Includes full text of 150 national and international newspapers; for the list click "Browse" and select up to 10 titles to search.

Ethnic News Watch

Database for alternative newspapers (in English and Spanish), also foreign newspapers available in the U.S.

ˇInforme! (Revistas en Espanol)

Includes the full text of over 100 national and international newspapers; for the list click "Browse" and select up to 10 titles to search.

National Newspaper Index

Five major newspapers indexed: Christian Science Monitor (from 1/1979); Los Angeles Times (from 1/1982); New York Times (from 1/1979); New York Times Book Review (from 1/1977); New York Times Magazine (from 2/1977); Wall Street Journal (from 1/1979) Washington Post (from 2/1980).

Internet Resources and Web Sites back to top

A selection of E-journals and websites includes the following (also check journal listings on sites such as Project Muse in Databases above):

E-Journals back to top

Bright Lights Film Journal

Popular-academic hybrid of movie analysis, history, and commentary.
http://www.brightlightsfilm.com/index.html

Cahiers du cinema

(in French)
http://www.cahiersducinema.com

Fiaf Journal of Film Preservation

http://www.fiafnet.org/uk/publications

Film Philosophy

“Founded in November 1996, Film-Philosophy is a 'salon-journal': an international para-academic 24-hour live-event version of specialized academic publishing, dedicated to philosophically reviewing film studies, philosophical aesthetics, and world cinema.”
http://www.film-philosophy.com

Genders

“Presenting Innovative work in the Arts, Humanities and Social Theories. We publish essays about gender and sexuality in relation to social, [political, artistic, and economic concerns.”
http://genders.org

German Film Quarterly

English-language edition.
http://www.german-cinema.de/magazine

Images

“Images publishes articles about movies, television, videos, and other popular visual arts.”
http://www.imagesjournal.com

Journal of Religion and Film

University of Nebraska
http://www.unomaha.edu/jrf"

Jump cut

“Media in its social and political context. Pioneers since 1974, analyzing media in relation to class, race and gender.”
http://www.ejumpcut.org/home.html

Kinoeye

European film:
http://www.kinoeye.org/index_04_05.php

Scope: an online journal of film studies

“Scope is a fully peer reviewed online journal edited by staff and students in the Institute of Film and Television Studies at the University of Nottingham. As our title suggests, Scope provides a forum for discussion of all aspects of film history, theory and criticism.
http://www.scope.nottingham.ac.uk

Senses of Cinema

“Concerned with ideas about particular films or bodies of work, but also with the regimes (ideological, economic and so forth) under which films are produced and viewed, and with the more abstract theoretical and philosophical issues raised by film study.” http://www.sensesofcinema.com

The Silents majority.

Online Journal of Silent film.
http://www.silentsmajority.com

Web sites back to top

American Communication Association

Links to media studies resources.
http://www.uark.edu/~aca/studies/film.html

American Film Institute (AFI)

Includes AFI’s online cinema.
http://www.afi.com/

Asian Film Connections

“Promises to revolutionize international access to culturally significant films from Asia. It is also an important resource for the film industry, educational institutions and international media.”
http://www.asianfilms.org/index.html

Black Film Research Online

University of Chicago, “find resources for researching Black film culture.”
http://bfro.uchicago.edu

The Black Film Center/Archive

The Black Film Center/Archive at Indiana University.
http://www.indiana.edu/%7Ebfca/index.html

CinemaSpace

Film Studies at the University of California at Berkeley:
http://cinemaspace.berkeley.edu

Earlycinema.com

“Early cinema.com aims to provide an introduction to the first decade of motion pictures and the developments which helped shape cinema as we know it today.”
http://www.earlycinema.com

Gender, Race and Ethnicity in the Media

Comprehensive list of online resources from the Department of Communication Studies, University of Iowa. Includes links to sites on: Advertising, African American, Asian American, Cyberspace, Latin American, Gender and Media, LesBiGay, Native American and other indigenous Peoples, Television and Film, and Print media links.
http://www.uiowa.edu/~commstud/resources/GenderMedia

IndieWire

Independent film: http://www.indiewire.com/index.html

Latin American Cinema

Listed by country.
http://lanic.utexas.edu/la/region/cinema

Media History Project

School of Journalism and Mass Communication, University of Minnesota. Site provides links to resources on early media, print media, electrical media, and mass media (includes separately radio, film, and television).
http://mediahistory.umn.edu/index2.html

MPAA Ratings Database

Database of Motion Picture Association of America from 1968.
http://www.mpaa.org/movieratings/search/index.htm

New York Public Library Resources

www.nypl.org Databases, research libraries, and archive resources. For Staten Island resources search “Staten Island on the Web: Books & Films” (includes list of films “reported to contain scenes on Staten Island”).
http://www.nypl.org/branch/staten

Public Moving Image Archives and Research Centers

Links to moving image collections worldwide.
http://www.lcweb.loc.gov/film/arch.html

CinemaQ

A directory of resources on queer cinema.
http://www.qcinema.com

Society for Cinema and Media Studies

“Devoted to the Scholarly Study of Film, Television, Video, and New Media.”
http://www.cmstudies.org

Women Make Movies

Includes “Links to Other Cool Sites on Women and Film and Video.”
http://www.wmm.com

Other online resources back to top

The following selected sites provide information such as film plots, credits, production, and biographical details.

Academy Awards Database: http://www.oscars.org/awardsdatabase
The Internet Movie Database: http://www.oscars.org/awardsdatabase
ScreenSite: http://www.oscars.org/awardsdatabase
TV Guide/Cinebooks Database: http://www.oscars.org/awardsdatabase

Media back to top

On the 2nd floor of the library (1L-201), Media Services houses a collection of video and DVD resources, including numerous documentaries, feature films, and television programs that can be viewed on one of the monitors in Media Services. Check Media Services holdings by going to Media Services catalog under Services on the CSI Library homepage.

Archives and Special Collections back to top

For a list of archival holdings and links to resources pertinent to Staten Island research including Staten Island (Richmond County) newspapers: From library homepage click on Research link then Archives and Special Collections.

Compiled by Sally Milner under the direction of Professor James A. Kaser.


space
Archives & Special Collections | Media Services | Services for Faculty | Student Info
CSI Home | CSI Links | CUNY Links | Beyond CSI | Site Map | Text Version

CSI
© College of Staten Island Library
2800 Victory Boulevard, Staten Island, NY 10314
718-982-4010
CSI Library Home CSI Home CUNY Home