College of Staten Island
Books Articles Research Assistance Services About us
Return Home

Guide to Selected Resources for Topics in Anthropology

Print Resources back to top

Encyclopedias, Handbooks, Guides

Below is a selection of works from the Reference Collection located on the Library 1st floor. Additional Books can be found by searching through CUNY+

Encyclopedias back to top

The Cambridge encyclopedia of hunters and gatherers /
Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1999. REF GN399 .C35 1999

Companion encyclopedia of anthropology /
London ; New York : Routledge, 1994. REF GN25 .C65 1994

Companion encyclopedia of archaeology /
London ; New York : Routledge, 1999. REF CC70 .C59 1999 Holdings: v.1-2

Countries and their cultures /
New York : Macmillan Reference USA , 2001. REF GN307 .C68 2001 v.1-4

Encyclopedia of cultural anthropology /
1st ed. New York : Henry Holt and Co., 1996. REF GN307 .E52 1996 v.1-4

Encyclopedia of human evolution and prehistory /
2nd ed. / editors, Eric Delson ... [et al.]. New York : Garland Pub., 2000. REF GN281 .E53 2000

Encyclopedia of medical anthropology: health and illness in the world's cultures /
New York : Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers, c2004. REF RA418 .E354 2004 v.1-2

Encyclopedia of social and cultural anthropology /
London ; New York : Routledge, 1996. REF GN307 .E527 1996

Encyclopedia of world cultures /
Boston , Mass. : G.K. Hall, 1991. REF GN307 .E53 1991 v.1-10

History of physical anthropology /
New York : Garland Pub., 1997. REF GN50.3 .H57 1997 v.1-2

International encyclopedia of linguistics /
2nd ed. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2003. REF P29 .I58 2003 v.1-4

Worldmark encyclopedia of cultures and daily life /
Detroit : Gale, c1998. REF GN333 .W67 1998 v.1-4

Dictionaries back to top

The dictionary of anthropology /
Oxford , England ; Malden , MA : Blackwell Publishers, 1997 REF GN307 .D485 1997

Dictionary of concepts in cultural anthropology /
Winthrop, Robert H.: New York : Greenwood Press, 1991 REF GN307 .W56 1991

Handbooks back to top

The handbook of applied linguistics /
Malden , MA : Blackwell Pub., 2004 REF P129 .H33 2004

Databases back to top

Subject Specific back to top

Anthropological Index Online searches journal articles from the British Library's catalog.

ASSIA = Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts - Indexes 650 journals in economics, education, health, politics, psychology, race relations, social services, and sociology.

Ethnic Newswatch is a FULL TEXT collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Click here for the Tutorial .

Related back to top

Country Studies - Information about countries world-wide from the Library of Congress, updated from their printed publications.

Humanities Abstracts Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.

In the First Person (Ebsco) Is an in-depth index of more than 3,350 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world. It lets you keyword search more than 650,000 pages of full-text by more than 15,000 individuals from all walks of life. It also contains pointers to some 3,500 audio and video files and 30,000 bibliographic records.

PsycInfo contains more than 1.8 million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports. Summaries of world literature in psychology and related disciplines; over 1700 periodicals in 27 languages. More than 60,000 records are added each year through weekly updates.

Social Sciences Abstracts Extensive index to scholarly articles in professional journals.

SocIndex FT - offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. The database features more than 1,600,000 records with subject headings from a 15,600 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. This product also contains informative abstracts for 640 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.

Sociology SAGE Collection - Full text of 34 SAGE sociology journals from 1967 to the present. Twelve journals are available from their first issues.

SpringerLink (formerly Kluwer Journals) Through a consortial arrangement, several CUNY colleges now have access to over two hundred titles in FULL TEXT from Kluwer/Springer, which in addition are linked through our EBSCO databases.

Wiley Interscience Over 100 FULL TEXT journals online from Wiley for sciences and social sciences, with tables of contents for hundreds of additional journals.

General back to top

Academic Search Premier Provides FULL TEXT for scholarly articles in over 3400 journals, plus citations to many more.

Dissertation Abstracts International - indexes 1.6 million dissertations and includes citations from 1861 through 1980. For access to this database, contact the Library (982-4010)

EbscoHost Databases Selected databases are available through Ebsco such as CINAHL, EconLit, ERIC, PsycInfo, Sociological Abstracts, etc.

JSTOR has FULL TEXT articles from the first issue of several hundred journals in the Arts & Sciences I & II, General Science, Language & Literature collections.

MasterFile Premier 1,880 FULL TEXT periodicals, plus biographies and primary sources.

TOPICsearch is a current events database for social, policial, economic, and scientific issues, with FULL TEXT to over 64,000 articles from more than 3000 diverse sources.

WORLDCAT Includes over 40,000,000 records of any type of material cataloged by thousands of OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.

Periodicals back to top

In the CSI collection

A complete list of periodicals relevant to Anthropology and related disciplines available in the CSI Library can be found at the Journal Titles link on the Library home page. Select Subject--> Social and Behavioral Sciences . Format availability (print, microfilm, or online) will be indicated.

Highlighted titles include:

American anthropologist (0002-7294)

American ethnologist (0094-0496)

American journal of archaeology (0002-9114)

American journal of physical anthropology (0002-9483)

Annual review of anthropology (0084-6570)

Anthropological linguistics (0003-5483)

Anthropological quarterly (0003-5491)

Anthropological review (1368-0382)

Anthropology & medicine (1364-8470)

Anthropology today (0268-540X)

Archaeology (0003-8113)

Cultural anthropology (0886-7356)

Current anthropology (0011-3204)

Ethnology (0014-1828)

History and anthropology (0275-7206)

Human biology (0018-7143)

Human ecology ( New York , N.Y. ) (0300-7839)

Journal of anthropology (1356-0123)

Journal of anthropological archaeology (0278-4165)

Journal of the Anthropological Society of London (1356-0131)

Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland (0307-3114)

Man ( London ) (0025-1496)

Medical anthropology (0145-9740)

Medical anthropology quarterly (0745-5194)

Reviews in anthropology (0093-8157)

Sociological abstracts (0038-0202)

Internet Resources back to top

General back to top

Anthronet http://www.anthro.net/
Anthronet is a valuable site that provides links to numerous websites dealing with Anthropology and Archeology.

National Anthropological Archives http://www.nmnh.si.edu/naa/
The website to the National Anthropological Archives, a truly extensive and impressive collection, “The National Anthropological Archives and Human Studies Film Archives collect and preserve historical and contemporary anthropological materials that document the world's cultures and the history of the discipline.”(from website). Includes Finding guides, online exhibits and links to other resources valuable to anthropologists.

Anthropology Review Database http://wings.buffalo.edu/ARD/
The Anthropology Review Database provides a searchable database of reviews on monographs both new and old being published in anthropology. It is a great site for anthropologist looking for literature on a topic or to see who is also working on a specific topic or field.

Anthropology Resources on the Internet http://www.anthropologie.net/
A wonderful and useful directory of internet resources dealing with Anthropology and archeology. Includes links to Museums, Research Institutions and University Departments

Yamada Language center http://babel.uoregon.edu/yamada/guides.html
=Site provides links to language resources on the web. It contains information on 140 languages and fonts for 112 languages. The Website is organized alphabetically by Language

AAA Style Guide http://www.aaanet.org/pubs/style_guide.htm
Link to the American Anthropologist Association Style guide

Associations back to top

American Anthropologist Association http://www.aaanet.org/
Website of the American Anthropologist Association. It contains information on Association meeting, publications and resources for Anthropologists including a listing of job opportunities and a very extensive and useful Links page.

Archaeological Institute of America http://www.archaeological.org/
Website of the Archeological Institute of America “North America's oldest and largest archaeological organization”. Site includes information on the organization as well as links to fieldwork opportunities and local chapters.

American Association of Physical Anthropologists http://www.physanth.org/newsletter/physanthnews.html\
Website of the American Association of Physical Anthropologists. The site provides information on Careers in Physical Anthropology , Graduate Programs , Meetings dealing with physical Anthropology, and Funding Opportunities (including student prizes).

The Royal Anthropological Institute http://www.therai.org.uk/ From website “The Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland (RAI) is the world's longest-established scholarly association dedicated to the furtherance of anthropology (the study of humankind) in its broadest and most inclusive sense.” Links to publications, funding opportunities and general information regarding the society and anthropology are provided.

Society for American Archaeology http://saa.org/
Website for the Society for American Archeology, a very important site for those interested in Archeology. It has links about the society and education open to the public. Members have access to a very good section on Careers, Opportunities, & Jobs in Archaeology .

World Council of Anthropology Associations http://wcaanet.org/
From the website “ The World Council of Anthropological Associations (WCAA) is a network of national and international associations that aims to promote worldwide communication and cooperation in anthropology.” It has a very extensive Links page.

Museums back to top

Phoebe A. Hearst Museum of Anthropology http://hearstmuseum.berkeley.edu/

Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology http://www.museum.upenn.edu/

Peabody Museum of Natural History (Yale) http://www.peabody.yale.edu/

Smithsonian Institution, Anthropology Division http://www.nmnh.si.edu/departments/anthro.html/

British Museum http://www.thebritishmuseum.ac.uk/

Media Resources back to top

Can be found on the Library 2nd floor (1L-201), Library Media Services houses a collection of videotapes, among them videos on topics in Anthropology. Titles include Ax Fight, Bushmen of the Kalahari, Cree Hunters of Mistassini, and Magic Death. For further information please call (718) 982-4035.

Compiled by Andrew Leykam, Asst. Prof.


space
Archives & Special Collections | Media Services | Services for Faculty | Student Info
CSI Home | CSI Links | CUNY Links | Beyond CSI | Site Map | Text Version

CSI
© College of Staten Island Library
2800 Victory Boulevard, Staten Island, NY 10314
718-982-4010
CSI Library Home CSI Home CUNY Home